skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Charles Lyell   [9 March 1868]1

6. Q. Anne St


My dear Lyell

Will you lend me for 24 hours the Philosophical Transactions Vol. 157. Part II 18682

Yours ever | Ch. Darwin


The date is established by the address and by the reference to the volume of the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London (see below, n. 2). CD was in London at the home of his brother, Erasmus Alvey Darwin, from 3 to 10 March 1868 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)). The only Monday during this time was 9 March.
The Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London vol. 157 part 2, published in 1867, contained an article by Albert Günther on the anatomy of a lizard (Günther 1867). CD had evidently met Günther on 7 March 1868 at the British Museum (DAR 82: B10–11), and may have wanted to re-read the article. CD’s own copy of the article, in the unbound pamphlet collection at CUL, is annotated.


Günther, Albert Charles Lewis Gotthilf. 1867. Contribution to the anatomy of Hatteria (Rhynchocephalus, Owen). [Read 2 May 1867.] Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London 157: 595–629.


Asks to borrow Philosophical Transactions, vol. 157, pt 2 (1868).

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
Department of Special Collections, Kenneth Spencer Research Library, University of Kansas (KU MSS P87: 2)
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5768,” accessed on 25 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16