skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Alfred Newton   7 April 1864

Magdalene College, | Cambridge.

7 April 1864.

My dear Sir,

It seems to me it mattered very little as far as the great question is concerned how the Partridge received the injury. Therefore pray spare your regrets at having thrown away the leg—1 I dare say Mr. Buckland has “other fish to fry”—or rather hatch—and is sufficiently well occupied.2

I was very glad to hear from Mr. Wallace3 a few days ago that your medical attendants were sanguine as to your speedy and complete recovery— That such may be the case is the sincere wish of | Yours very truly | Alfred Newton

Charles Darwin Esq. F.R.S.


See letter from Alfred Newton, 2 April 1864. Francis Trevelyan Buckland was studying British salmon fisheries, and had recently published a book titled Fish hatching (Buckland 1863, DNB); see also Correspondence vol. 11, letter from F. T. Buckland, [before 1 February 1863] and n. 2.
Alfred Russel Wallace.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

DNB: Dictionary of national biography. Edited by Leslie Stephen and Sidney Lee. 63 vols. and 2 supplements (6 vols.). London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1885–1912. Dictionary of national biography 1912–90. Edited by H. W. C. Davis et al. 9 vols. London: Oxford University Press. 1927–96.


CD need not worry about having discarded the partridge’s foot.

Letter details

Letter no.
Alfred Newton
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Magdalene College, Cambridge
Source of text
DAR 172: 42
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4456,” accessed on 8 April 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 12