skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [4 October 1863]1

Malvern Wells2

Sunday

My dear old Friend.

Your note is most pathetic3   I understand well your words: ‘wherever I go, she is there”.— I am so deeply glad that she did not suffer so much, as I feared was inevitable. This was to us with poor Annie the one great comfort.—4 Trust to me that time will do wonders, & without causing forgetfuless of your darling.

I am very weak & can write little.— My nervous system has failed & I am kept going only by repeated doses of brandy; but I am certainly better, much, & sickness stopped.—

God Bless you my best of friends.— Yours affect | C. Darwin

P.S. | I must add that I shall be grateful for a line whenever you are inclined to write.

My head swims badly so no more.—

Footnotes

The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from J. D. Hooker, 1 October 1863. In 1863, 4 October was a Sunday.
CD was resident in Malvern Wells, Worcestershire, while undergoing treatment at James Smith Ayerst’s hydropathic establishment (see ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 11, Appendix II)).
Letter from J. D. Hooker, 1 October 1863. Hooker had written concerning the death of his six-year-old daughter, Maria Elizabeth Hooker.
Anne Elizabeth Darwin, the Darwins’ eldest daughter, had died aged 10 in 1851 (see Correspondence vol. 5).

Summary

Condolences on death of JDH’s daughter.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-4318
From
Darwin, C. R.
To
Hooker, J. D.
Sent from
Malvern Wells
Source of text
DAR 115: 206
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4318,” accessed on 8 December 2016, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-4318

letter