skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To D. F. Nevill   22 January [1862]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Jan. 22d


I received the Orchids safely & the other flowers, & I ought to have thanked your Ladyship earlier for your kindness, but I happened to be much engaged & deferred writing.

with my best thanks | I beg leave to remain | Your Ladyships | Truly obliged | Charles Darwin

P.S. Since the above was written I have received your Ladyships most kind note.—2 I am infinitely obliged for all your great kindness.—

No doubt the Photograph will be sent in a few days; but assuredly it will not ornament your room.—3


The year is conjectured from CD’s having first written to Nevill the previous November, requesting her help in procuring orchid specimens (see Correspondence vol. 9, letters to D. F. Nevill, 12 November [1861] and 19 November [1861]).
CD probably refers to the second of the two letters from Nevill dated [before 22 January 1862].
In the first letter dated [before 22 January 1862], Nevill requested a photograph or lithograph of CD to hang in her sitting room. The photograph to which CD refers may have been one taken the previous year by his son, William Erasmus Darwin (see Correspondence vol. 9, letter to Asa Gray, 11 April [1861] and n. 19; the photograph is reproduced as the frontispiece to that volume). Since, however, it appears that CD did not send the photograph to Nevill personally, it may be that he had ordered her a copy of the photograph taken by Maull and Polyblank in about 1857 (Correspondence vol. 8, frontispiece). See also letter from E. A. Darwin, [April – May? 1862].


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Thanks for orchids and other flowers.

Will send photograph.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Dorothy Fanny Nevill
Sent from
Source of text
Wellcome Collection
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3405,” accessed on 24 November 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10