skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Richard Kippist1    10 March [1858]2

Down, Bromley, Kent,

March 10

My dear Sir,

I am owing to a mistake which I made in very great want of two Books, which I had once before out of Library. In fact I am come to a dead stand still until I can get them. I do not know what regulations are, but I think the council would permit your being so kind as to send off the two vos. to the enclosed address tomorrow morning. Will you so far oblige me? The Books are the vol. of Boreau’s Flora du Centre de la France3 which includes genus Carex. And Flora Ratisbonensis (Naturhistorische Topog: von Regensburg) Dr. A. E. Fürnrohr, 1839.4 I do hope you can oblige me in this: if sent off soonest tomorrow morning by Charing Cross Coach I shall get them on Friday morning.

NO, I have just thought of better plan; I will send our carrier, tomorrow morning, for the chance of you being able to give the Books to him.5

My dear sir | Yours very sincerely, | C. Darwin


The recipient is identified by CD’s reference to works by Alexandre Boreau and August Emanuel Fürnrohr (see nn. 3 and 4, below). CD had borrowed these books from the Linnean Society in July 1857 (see Correspondence vol. 6, letter to J. D. Hooker, 1 August [1857] and n. 5). Richard Kippist was the librarian of the Linnean Society. Parts of this letter were published in Correspondence vol. 7; a complete transcript of the letter appeared in a later sale catalogue.
The year, as given in James Cummins’s catalogue, is confirmed by CD’s request to borrow books previously used in his tabulation of large and small genera (see Correspondence vol. 7, letter to J. D. Hooker, 10 [March 1858]).
The Down carrier, George Snow, went to London once a week (Post Office directory of the six home counties).


Boreau, Alexandre. 1840. Flore du centre de la France; ou description des plantes qui croissent spontanément dans la région centrale de la France, et de celles qui y sont cultivées en grand, avec l’analyse des genres et des espèces. 2 vols. in 1. Paris: Roret.

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Fürnrohr, August Emanuel. 1839. Flora Ratisbonensis, oder Uebersicht der um Regensburg wildwachsenden Gewächse. Vol. 2 of Naturhistorische Topographie von Regensburg, edited by A. E. Fürnrohr. Regensburg: Manz.

Post Office directory of the six home counties: Post Office directory of the six home counties, viz., Essex, Herts, Kent, Middlesex, Surrey and Sussex. London: W. Kelly & Co. 1845–78.


In great want of two books, which he had borrowed previously: Boreau Flora du Centre de la France and A. E. Fürnrohr, Naturhistorische Topographie von Regensburg, Bd 2 Flora Ratisbonensis.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Richard Kippist
Sent from
Source of text
James Cummins, Bookseller (dealer) (15 November 2012)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2238,” accessed on 29 November 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 7 and 24 (Supplement)