skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. S. Henslow   14 July [1855]

Down Farnborough Kent

July 14th

My dear Henslow.

With mistakes & alterations, the Hitcham list1 is so blotched, that I have copied out the 22 plants, which grow at Hitcham & are found at Azores; & are, according to a list of 77 received yesterday, from Mr H. C. Watson, the least likely to have been imported with agricultural seeds.—2 If you will employ your little girls to collect these, I shd. be greatly obliged, & pay them liberally for me. I shd. require, when such could be procured, a packet with 100 or 200 seeds of each kind, or even rather more of the easily procured kinds; of course less would do. But I have to try them without salting, & at successive periods after immersion.—

I think I shd prefer waiting till you have a good many of the 22 kinds together.

I hope that you think the experiment sufficiently curious to repay you in some slight degree for part of trouble you have so kindly taken. I hope that the little girls, with payment in view, will enjoy the job.—

Most truly yours | C. Darwin diag Water-cress— Nasturtium officinale


Strawberry Fragaria vesca

Cinque-foil, creeping Potentilla reptans

Cinquefoil strawberry-leaved P. tormentilla

Willow-herb—small-flowered. Epilob. parviflorum

Water-star-wort Callitriche

Ivy Hedera helix

Marsh-wort procumbent. Helosciadium nodiflorum

Bedstraw, white water Galium palustre

Centaury common Erythræa centauria

Hooded-Bindweed, great. Convolvulus sepium

Primrose Primula veris

Figwort water Scrophularia aquatica

Speedwell thyme-leaved. Veronica serpyllifolia

—— water —— anagallis

—— common —— officinalis

Thrincia hairy — Thrincia hirta

Spurge-laurel, common Daphne laureola

Club Rush, lake Scirpus lacustris

Carex— any 2 species.


22 kinds



Henslow 1855a, sent to CD by Henslow (see letter to J. S. Henslow, 27 June [1855]).


Sends a list of 22 plants that grow at Hitcham and in the Azores and are, according to H. C. Watson, least likely to have been imported [by man]. Will pay the little girls of Hitcham liberally to collect the seeds for his experiments.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Stevens Henslow
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 93: A40–A41, A57
Physical description
3pp, encl 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1718,” accessed on 26 November 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5