skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Robert Patterson   21 August [1854]


Aug. 21 [1854]1


I have now gone through all the cirripedes in the house, and I find some half dozen specimens (including some bottles) belonging to poor Thompson.2 None of these are of much value, excepting as being (at least some of them) rare as Irish.

I have also a few M.S. notes. Will you be so kind as to say how I shall send them. They are rather too heavy & being glass not fit to go by post. and they are not worth the carriage of so long a journey. Is there anywhere in London where they could lie till other objects accumulated? I am sorry to cause this trouble but would be much obliged if you could send me a line. Unfortunately I cannot say positively that I shall be at Liverpool;3 otherwise that probably would have been a good way of transmitting the specimens.

Pray believe me | Dear Sir | Yours sincerely | C. DARWIN


The date as given in Praeger 1935, p. 713.
The forthcoming meeting of the British Association for the Advancement of Science, which was held in Liverpool, 20–7 September. CD had originally planned to attend but changed his mind and did not go.


Praeger, William E. 1935. Six unpublished letters of Charles Darwin. Papers of the Michigan Academy of Science, Arts and Letters 20: 711–5. [Vols. 4,5,8]


Has found a half dozen [cirripede] specimens belonging to William Thompson and a few MS notes. Asks for instructions for sending them to RP.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Robert Patterson
Sent from
Source of text
Praeger 1935, p. 713

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1579,” accessed on 24 November 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5