skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From T. L. Brunton   10 January 1881

Europa Hotel. | New Mole Parade, Gibraltar.

Jany 10th. 1881

Dear Mr. Darwin

About two years ago I gave some lectures in Natural History & Theology at the Free Church College in Aberdeen.1 The choice of my subject was guided by the motives which I have mentioned in the preface to the reprinted lectures the proof sheets of which I now send to you. My object in doing so is to beg you to do me the great favour to look at the preface & Lecture XVI & if you find anything in it with which you disagree to let me know2

If you think it correct please put the proofs in the waste basket without a word of comment but if incorrect I should be infinitely obliged by your kindly letting me know in order that I may if possible alter or amend anything in an appendix.

I should have greatly wished to dedicate the work to you but that would to a great extent have frustrated the purpose I have in view which is to reach those who will not read your works.

You will see by the address on this letter that I am at present abroad

I have been suffering so much from ague that I have been obliged to leave London for three months & I am now on my way to Algiers.

I was extremely sorry to miss you when you called upon me   I trust you will forgive my troubling you with the proofs but beg you will not waste a moment upon them if it is inconvenient for you. Believe me | Yours very sincerely | T Lauder Brunton

Charles Darwin Esq


Sends proofs of lectures he intends to reprint as a book [The Bible and science (1881)]; asks CD if he would check one for errors.

Letter details

Letter no.
Thomas Lauder Brunton, 1st baronet
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 160: 343
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 12999,” accessed on 26 September 2020,