skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Francis Darwin to Lawson Tait   22 July [1875]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

July 22nd

My dear Sir

My Father desires me to say that he is so much engaged with other subjects that he cannot attend to Drosera at present. He is much obliged for the specimens & returns the box registered & hopes that its contents will survive their double journey in safety.2 The production of buds from Drosera leaves is a well known phenomenon but my Father has forgotten the references to the subject. My asks me to say, that he regrets that the digestive power of the fluid in the virgin pitchers of Nepenthes3 was not tested with small cubes of white of egg; until this is done he doubts whether physiologists would admit the presence of the ferment. He desires me to thank you much for your kind desire to help him

Yours truly | Francis Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from LawsonTait, 21 July [1875].
Nepenthes: the tropical pitcher-plant.

Summary

CD sends words that he is too busy to work on the Drosera RLT has sent. CD also regrets that the fluid on virgin pitchers of Nepenthes was not tested with white of egg. Until that is done, he doubts whether physiologists would admit the presence of the ferment.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-10087
From
Francis Darwin
To
Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Sent from
Down
Source of text
DAR 221.5: 29
Physical description
2pp (Photocopy)

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 10087,” accessed on 28 July 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-10087.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23

letter