skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1869 in date [X]
511 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To [?]   21 September [1869]

Summary

Thanks correspondent for sending curious facts about his cats.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  21 Sept [1869]
Classmark:  National Library of Australia (MS 760/2/571)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6952

To ?   30 October [1869 or 1870]

Summary

Comments on a case of crossing distant plants of Habenaria

and on hermaphroditism in hybrid plants.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  30 Oct [1869-70]
Classmark:  King Edward VI High School, Stafford
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6961A

To Francis Henry Salvin?   31 October 1869

Summary

Thanks correspondent for sending extracts about the jackal.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  31 Oct 1869
Classmark:  McGill University Library, Department of Rare Books
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6962

To Nature   13 November [1869]

Summary

Comments on A. W. Bennett’s letter [Nature 1 (1869): 58] on fertilisation of winter-flowering plants. CD used net, not a bell-glass to cover Lamium.

Refers to F. Delpino’s observations on fertilisation of grasses; CD is glad to say these observations are compatible with "the very general law that distinct individual plants must be occasionally crossed".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Nature
Date:  13 Nov [1869]
Classmark:  Nature 1 (1869): 85
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6987

To ?   13 December [1869]

Summary

Has given the right of translation [of Descent] to Julius Victor Carus of Leipzig, so the recipient should inform Alexander Duncker to communicate with JVC.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  13 Dec [1869]
Classmark:  Abraham Schwad Collection at the National Library of Israel (Schwad 03 04 07)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7028F

To ?   [1870–82?]

Summary

Suggests the recipient catch the 4.12 train.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  [1870–82?]
Classmark:  The National Library of Wales (NLW Dolaucothi L 5984)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7088F

To ?   2 May [1869 or later]

Summary

"When a man has laboured hard in science & has proved that he is capable of original research, he may [some]times indulge in speculation [&] the public will indulge him. But even in this case it is a common error to speculate too largely, for speculation is far easier than observation or experiments . . ."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  2 May [1869-82]
Classmark:  Sotheby’s (dealers) (28 March 1983)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13866A

To ?   6 April [1869–71]

Summary

"My experiment was intended solely to show that colour reappeared, and I choose kinds which breed [true] to colour, as is certainly the case with [sports] and those which I tried . . .

I have recorded an undoubted case of wild rock Pigeons caught in Scotland having bred in confinement …"

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  6 Apr [1869-71]
Classmark:  L’Autographe S.A. (dealers) (Catalogue 21)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6098A

To the Athenæum   19 June 1869

Summary

Thanks correspondent, "Ponderer", for pointing out his erroneous calculation of the rate of increase of elephants in Origin [p. 64]. [!?or p. 74!? (see 6775f), or 75, (see 6790)]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Athenæum
Date:  19 June 1869
Classmark:  Athenæum, 26 June 1869, p. 861
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6787

To ?   23 June 1869

Summary

[A quotation in CD’s hand, signed and dated, from the introduction to Orchids.] "I have never once expressed a wish for aid or for information, which has not been granted, as far as possible, in the most liberal spirit."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  23 June 1869
Classmark:  The Morgan Library and Museum, New York (MA 6512)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6795

To the Athenæum   7 [July] 1869

Summary

Because readers have arrived at different answers to the problem of the rate of increase of elephants, CD offers a rule, used by his son George, for calculating the product for any number of generations.

[Letter erroneously dated June.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Athenæum
Date:  7 [July] 1869
Classmark:  Athenæum, 17 July 1869, p. 82
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6820

From Robert Swinhoe   16 October 1869

Summary

Has a book of photographs of Japanese that CD might be interested in for his work on expression.

Author:  Robert Swinhoe
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  16 Oct 1869
Classmark:  DAR 177: 332
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6940

From Emile Alglave   22 October 1869

Summary

Has learned CD will soon publish a new work, in three parts: I. "Descent of man", II. "On sexual selection", and III. "Expression of the emotions"; would like to translate one part for inclusion in Revue des Cours [Littéraires et] Scientifiques, and at the same time translate and publish the complete work for France.

Author:  Émile Alglave
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Oct 1869
Classmark:  DAR 159: A35
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6953

To J. V. Carus   22 October [1869]

Summary

His book [Descent] will not be ready for a year because of his health and the laboriousness of work on sexual selection. Has deferred arrangements for German translation, but would feel secure with JVC. Carl Vogt has offered to translate it.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  22 Oct [1869]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 43–44)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6954

To J. J. Moulinié   23 October [1869]

Summary

Would be delighted to have JJM translate new book [Descent].

Can CD legally bring out new edition of Origin in France with new publisher? Has been ill-used by V. Masson and C. Royer. Wants edition without Royer’s preface.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Jean Jacques Moulinié
Date:  23 Oct [1869]
Classmark:  Bibliothèque de Genève (Ms. suppl. 66, ff. 11–12)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6955

From Carl Vogt   26 October 1869

Summary

Would like to translate Descent into German, if Carus is not doing so.

Author:  Carl Vogt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Oct 1869
Classmark:  DAR 180: 13
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6956

From Asa Gray   26 and 29 October [1869]

Summary

As CD is to be in London, AG will try to get to Queen Anne St to see him.

Author:  Asa Gray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 and 29 Oct 1869
Classmark:  DAR 165: 172
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6957

To Anton Kerner von Marilaun   27 October 1869

Summary

Thanks for Die Abhängigkeit der Pflanzengestalt von Klima und Boden (Kerner 1869).

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Anton Kerner von Marilaun
Date:  27 Oct 1869
Classmark:  Archive of the University of Vienna, ref. code 151.273-1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6957F

From T. H. Farrer   27 October 1869

Summary

Observations on Passiflora.

Hildebrand on geraniums.

Author:  Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st Baron Farrer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  27 Oct 1869
Classmark:  DAR 164: 59
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6958

To J. V. Carus   [30 October 1869]

Summary

Has received a letter from Carl Vogt, expressing his readiness to translate Descent at the request of the publisher Franz Anton Ricker

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Julius Victor Carus
Date:  [30 Oct 1869]
Classmark:  Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Slg. Darmstaedter Lc 1859: Darwin, Charles, Bl. 45)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-6958F
Document type
letter (511)
Date
1869
01 (49)
02 (48)
03 (53)
04 (38)
05 (43)
06 (39)
07 (43)
08 (28)
09 (46)
10 (46)
11 (55)
12 (23)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter