skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1855 in date [X]
189 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

To ?   7 December [1855–7?]

Summary

Concerning specimens he wants collected in the Azores.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  7 Dec [1855-7]
Classmark:  DAR 249: 93 (photocopy)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13867A

CD memorandum   [December 1855]

thumbnail

Summary

Requests skins of domestic breeds or races of poultry, pigeons, rabbits, cats, and dogs from any unfrequented region. [Attached is a list of people to whom CD has written for pigeon and poultry skins.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  unspecified
Date:  [Dec 1855]
Classmark:  DAR 206: 34–5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1812

To Charles James Fox Bunbury   [20 March 1855]

Summary

CD hopes to have an hour’s talk with CJFB before CD leaves London.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles James Fox Bunbury, 8th baronet
Date:  [20 Mar 1855]
Classmark:  Brown University, John Hay Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13784

To Roderick Impey Murchison   3 June [1855]

Summary

Accepts invitation for the 20th.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Roderick Impey Murchison, 1st baronet
Date:  3 June [1855]
Classmark:  Cleveland Health Sciences Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13831

From [J. B. Innes]   [after 8 February – August 1855]

Summary

Provides another case of apparently pure bred pointers producing litter with one setter puppy. Correspondent was told that this occurred in several litters; gives names of owners and others who can corroborate the information.

Author:  John Brodie Innes
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 8 Feb-Aug1855]
Classmark:  DAR 163: 5
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13870

To William and Julius Fairbeard   [October 1855 – May 1856]

thumbnail

Summary

Five questions on variability in peas.

W & JF recommended to CD by Mr Cattell.

CD planted an experimental pea garden this summer.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William & Julius Fairbeard
Date:  [Oct 1855 – May 1856]
Classmark:  DAR 206: 38
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1467

From J. D. Dana   [before 6 December 1855]

Summary

Responds to CD’s criticism of his use of word "Kingdom" in discussing geographical distribution of Crustacea.

Author:  James Dwight Dana
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [before 6 Dec 1855]
Classmark:  DAR (CD library – Dana, J. D. 1853)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1544

From Bartholomew James Sulivan   2 February [1855]

thumbnail

Summary

The only mainland vegetation he saw on Falkland Island shores were trees. Remembers no strange birds there, but on journey home saw a woodcock more than 500 miles from the nearest land.

Author:  Bartholomew James Sulivan
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 Feb [1855]
Classmark:  DAR 205.2: 251
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1551

To Francis Galton   22 February [1855]

Summary

Thanks for FG’s note and trouble in searching out pigeons.

Is obliged to FG for obtaining C. J. Andersson’s offer of information about breeds of cattle in South Africa.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Galton
Date:  22 Feb [1855]
Classmark:  National Library of South Africa, Cape Town
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1554F

From Charles Cardale Babington   [c. June 1855]

Summary

Reports that he sees the oxlip, cowslip, and primrose as really distinct species; hybrids are formed between any two.

Author:  Charles Cardale Babington
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [c. June 1855]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 1
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1584

DCP-LETT-1618

Summary

Cancelled: part of 1757. Has examined a specimen of [of what he had previously described as the ovaria of Lepadidae, see Living Cirripedia 1: 57-8]. Could not find cells resembling ovigerms. When THH has seen the organ in different states, and can say positively that in none could ovigerms be in formation, CD will 'give up the ghost handsomely and entirely'.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Thomas Henry Huxley
Date:  [1855]
Classmark:  DAR 145: 161, 222
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1618

From Arthur Edward Knox   [c. March 1855–7?]

thumbnail

Summary

CD has suggested an explanation of how pike were introduced to a remote lake in Ireland by cormorants [carrying pike spawn on their feet or in their gullets].

Author:  Arthur Edward Knox
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  Mar 1855-7
Classmark:  DAR 205.2: 243
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1624

From G. R. Waterhouse   [after 2 March 1855]

thumbnail

Summary

Gives instances of sexual differences in the number of tarsi within species of Coleoptera and also variation in the number of tarsi between related species.

Author:  George Robert Waterhouse
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 2 Mar 1855]
Classmark:  DAR 47: 133–4
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1625

To Charles Lyell   10 January [1855]

Summary

Discusses views of Daniel Sharpe on foliation and cleavage. Recalls his own previous discussion [in South America].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  10 Jan [1855]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.110)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1626

To Francis Galton   1 January [1855]

Summary

Thanks FG for book [The art of travel (1855)].

Is looking for a house in London for a month.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Galton
Date:  1 Jan [1855]
Classmark:  UCL Library Services, Special Collections (GALTON/1/1/9/5/7/3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1627

To J. W. Lubbock   10 January [1855]

Summary

Reports that his intercession with Folliott Baugh [Rector of Chelsfield, Kent] has had no effect. Baugh still believes Farnborough’s rights have not been attended to if entire fund is applied to the school at Down.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John William Lubbock, 3d baronet
Date:  10 Jan [1855]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (LUB: D21)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1628

To Charles Lyell   14 January [1855]

Summary

Has found a house on Baker Street to take for a month.

Mentions Daniel Sharpe’s study of the Grampians.

Association of various metamorphic rocks and relationship of their foliation to their dip and strike. Discusses foliation of schists and its origin. Comments on fluidity of gneiss and schists.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  14 Jan [1855]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.111)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1630

To J. W. Lubbock   15 [January 1855]

Summary

CD called on Baugh but found him adamant; he has already laid the case before the [Charity] Commissioners and if necessary will take it to a Court of Equity.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John William Lubbock, 3d baronet
Date:  15 [Jan 1855]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (LUB: D22)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1631

To Charles Lyell   [21 January – 11 February 1855]

Summary

Relationship of schists to alternating beds of slate in western Tierra del Fuego and the Chonos Islands.

Comments on Sharpe’s theory of curved cleavage planes.

Example of metamorphosis in a "clay-slate porphyry region". Importance of previous lines of cleavage and stratification in foliation of metamorphosed rock.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [21 Jan – 11 Feb 1855]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.112)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1633

From John Davy   30 January 1855

thumbnail

Summary

Responds to CD’s letter. The ova of Salmonidae exposed to air, if kept moist, will stay alive up to 72 hours.

Author:  John Davy
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  30 Jan 1855
Classmark:  DAR 205.2: 227
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-1634
Document type
letter (189)
Date
1855
01 (8)
02 (6)
03 (23)
04 (17)
05 (11)
06 (17)
07 (29)
08 (15)
09 (8)
10 (14)
11 (18)
12 (23)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter