skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent [X]
1838 in date [X]
82 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Next

Notes on marriage   [July 1838]

Summary

Published as an appendix to vol. 2 of the Correspondence; see https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/tags/about-darwin/family-life/darwin-marriage. Debates with himself the pros and cons of marriage. Considers plans for future.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [July 1838]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-420

Notes on marriage   [after 7 Apr 1838]

Summary

Published as an appendix to vol. 2 of the Correspondence; see https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/tags/about-darwin/family-life/darwin-marriage. Considers his options for the future. Debates marriage and the best place to live. Feels the need for experiment and direct observation which would be difficult living in London; he "could not go on as Lyell does correcting & adding up new information to old train".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 7 Apr 1838]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8 :1, DAR 210.8: 2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-409

To [unidentified]   12 September [1838]

Summary

Seeks permission to make another visit to Addiscombe [Military College] to see again the model of St Helena. He needs to correct proportion of some geological sections in his Geology [see Volcanic islands, ch. 4].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  12 Sept [1838]
Classmark:  The Morgan Library and Museum (Gordon N. Ray collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-427

To William John Broderip   [August–December 1838]

Summary

Would like to arrange a meeting about CD’s collection of shells [from the Beagle voyage].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William John Broderip
Date:  [Aug–Dec 1838]
Classmark:  Fitzwilliam Museum
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-422

To Charles Lyell   9 August [1838]

Summary

Comments on receiving copy of Lyell’s Elements [of geology]. Much is new to CD, and he is copying out notes and references.

Criticises geological work of John Phillips.

Describes expedition to Glen Roy, about which he is writing a paper ["Parallel roads of Glen Roy" (1839), Collected papers 1: 87–137].

Enjoys the Athenaeum Club.

Criticises entomological work of F. W. Hope.

Asks Lyell to obtain for him a copy of barometric readings made at Leith.

Asks him to ascertain altitude of several Scottish lochs.

Comments on FitzRoy’s character.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  9 Aug [1838]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.10)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-424

To A. Y. Spearman   18 August 1838

Summary

Notification of submission of Smith, Elder & Co. accounts (enclosed) for first numbers of part II and part III of the Zoology, which are now published.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman
Date:  18 Aug 1838
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-424A

From Charles Lyell   6 and 8 September 1838

Summary

Would like to talk over Salisbury Craigs with CD.

CL’s father enthusiastic over Journal of researches.

Comments on Élie de Beaumont’s theory of mountain elevation.

Asks about parallel lines of upheaval and depression in the Pacific.

Glad CD likes Athenaeum Club.

Comments on methods of work.

Invites CD to visit Kinnordy.

Defends BAAS: "in this country no importance is attached to any body of men who do not make occasional demonstrations of their strength in public meetings".

With respect to Glen Roy, notes existence of deposits destitute of shells.

Author:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 and 8 Sept 1838
Classmark:  K. M. Lyell 1881 2: 43
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-425

To the Geological Society of London   7 September 1838

Summary

Report on R. A. C. Austen’s paper on the origin of limestone in Devonshire [Proc. Geol. Soc. Lond. 2 (1838): 669–70]. CD deems it not worthy of publication in Transactions.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Geological Society of London
Date:  7 Sept 1838
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/COM/P/4/2/8)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-426

To Charles Lyell   [14] September [1838]

Summary

Comments on an article in Edinburgh Review [by David Brewster, 67 (1838): 271–308] on Comte’s Philosophie positive.

Discusses falsity of Élie de Beaumont’s views of contemporaneous parallel lines of elevation and subsidence.

Owen’s views of relationship of reptiles to birds.

On "question of species" CD has filled notebook after notebook with facts, "which begin to group themselves clearly under sub-laws".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [14] Sept [1838]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.11)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-428

To A. Y. Spearman   22 September 1838

Summary

Submits the account of Smith, Elder & Co. for the second number of the second part of the Zoology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Young Spearman
Date:  22 Sept 1838
Classmark:  The National Archives (TNA) (T1/4524 paper 25824)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-428A

From Bartholomew James Sulivan   20 October 1838

Summary

Reports arrival at Falklands; weather conditions, and unsuccessful search he made for a geological formation CD had seen. Describes cliffs, streams, rocks, and lines of elevation; includes two drawings.

Author:  Bartholomew James Sulivan
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  20 Oct 1838
Classmark:  DAR 39: 18–19
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-429

To John Stevens Henslow   3 November 1838

Summary

Relates plan for an appendix to his Journal of researches which will include facts of species of birds’ being different in different islands of the Galápagos and also of the lizards and tortoises on the islands. Asks JSH whether he can supply parallels in the plant life.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Stevens Henslow
Date:  3 Nov 1838
Classmark:  Smithsonian Libraries (Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology MSS 002031 A Gift of H. W. Lende Jr)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-429A

To John Frederick William Herschel   2 [November 1838]

Summary

Requests information for W. S. Macleay on JFWH’s method of catching pelagic animals while ship is under way.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Frederick William Herschel, 1st baronet
Date:  2 [Nov 1838]
Classmark:  The Royal Society (HS6: 10)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-430

Letter from J. S. Henslow   [after 3 Nov 1838]

Summary

Whilst a genus of plants is comon to two of three islands [in the Galápagos] the species are often different in different islands. [Text only known from Journal of researches; published in Correspondence vol. 13 supplement, p. 351, letter to John Stevens Henslow, 3 November 1838, n. 5.]

Author:  John Stevens Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [after 3 Nov 1838]
Classmark:  Journal of researches, p. 629
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-431F

To Charles Lyell   [12 November 1838]

Summary

Announces his engagement to Emma Wedgwood.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [12 Nov 1838]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.12)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-432

From Erasmus Alvey Darwin   [14 November 1838]

Summary

Sends congratulations on CD’s engagement. "It is a marriage which will give almost as much pleasure to the rest of the world as it does to yourselves."

Author:  Erasmus Alvey Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [14 Nov 1838]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 164
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-435

From Charlotte Langton   14 November [1838]

Summary

Expresses her pleasure and satisfaction in CD’s forthcoming marriage.

Author:  Charlotte Langton
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 Nov [1838]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 169
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-436

From William Owen Sr   21 November 1838

Summary

Expresses his pride and pleasure in CD’s friendship and wishes him well on hearing of his forthcoming marriage.

Author:  William Owen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  21 Nov 1838
Classmark:  DAR 204: 171
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-439

From Harriet Henslow   22 November [1838]

Summary

Sends congratulations and expresses her pleasure on hearing of CD’s forthcoming marriage.

Author:  Harriet Henslow
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  22 Nov [1838]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 165
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-442

To Charles Thomas Whitley   23 November [1838]

Summary

Announces his engagement.

Glad CW wondered at Glen Roy. "I saw nothing in my peregrinations to the Antipodes nearly so curious in physical geography."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Thomas Whitley
Date:  23 Nov [1838]
Classmark:  Shrewsbury School, Taylor Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-443
Document type
letter (82)
Date
1838
01 (5)
02 (7)
03 (1)
04 (6)
05 (7)
06 (2)
07 (4)
08 (5)
09 (5)
10 (1)
11 (20)
12 (19)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5  Next
letter