skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains ""

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
1870::07 in date [X]
1870::07 in date [X]
letter in document-type [X]
letter in document-type [X]
37 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To John Murray   [after 1 July 1870]

Summary

Wants to keep "The origin of man" as first part of title of book.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Murray; John Murray
Date:  [after 1 July 1870]
Classmark:  DAR 143: 273
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7050

To A. R. Wallace   5 [July 1870]

Summary

CD sends a "curious drawing" [missing] relating to imitation and protection.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Date:  5 [July 1870]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add MS 46434: 204–5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7218

From J. D. Hooker   1 July 1870

thumbnail

Summary

Hibiscus and Nolana seeds not harvested at Kew. Sends list of the best plants of Lilium he can give.

Asks CD for name of work on orchids mentioned in his supplementary paper ["Fertilization of orchids", Collected papers 2: 138–56].

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 July 1870
Classmark:  DAR 103: 51–2
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7258

From John Murray   1 July 1870

Summary

Financial adjustments for last edition of Origin

and a tentative title for the new work: "Descent of man and selection according to sex". [Later changed to "in relation to sex".]

Author:  John Murray
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 July 1870
Classmark:  DAR 171: 376
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7259

From B. J. Sulivan   1 July 1870

Summary

Sends copies of a mission magazine [missing] and discusses the missionaries’ work in S. America, especially that of Thomas Bridges and W. H. Stirling.

Author:  Bartholomew James Sulivan
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  1 July 1870
Classmark:  DAR 177: 294
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7260

To J. D. Hooker   2 July [1870]

Summary

Thanks JDH for offer of lilies.

The paper on orchids is by Hermann Müller [Verh. Naturhist. Ver. Preuss. Rheinlande & Westphalens 25 (1868): 1–62], on Platanthera and Epipactis.

Cites another work by P. Rohrbach [Über den Blüthenbau (1866)].

MS [of Descent] ready for printer.

Has read Bentham’s last Linnean Society [Presidential] Address [Proc. Linn. Soc. Lond. (1870): lxxiv–xciv] with great interest.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  2 July [1870]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 175–6
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7261

From Camille Dareste   2 July 1870

Summary

Has found a remarkable anatomical character in the niata skull of which he wrote [see 5540]. Asks whether the skull CD brought from South America [at the Royal College of Surgeons] shows the same character. If so, it would provide incontestable evidence of the origin of this race of cattle.

Author:  Gabriel-Madeleine-Camille (Camille) Dareste
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  2 July 1870
Classmark:  DAR 162: 47
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7262

To B. J. Sulivan   2 July [1870]

Summary

Thanks BJS for a journal and an interesting letter.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Bartholomew James Sulivan
Date:  2 July [1870]
Classmark:  Sulivan family (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7263

From J. J. Weir   4 July 1870

Summary

On mutations in rabbits.

Cytisus case is not a double graft.

Aggressive behaviour of birds of prey.

Author:  John Jenner Weir
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  4 July 1870
Classmark:  DAR 181: 83
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7264

To Friedrich Hildebrand   4 July 1870

Summary

Requests seeds of Nolana prostrata & Hibiscus Africanus, which have been matured in Germany or in the more Southern parts of Europe.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Friedrich Hermann Gustav (Friedrich) Hildebrand
Date:  4 July 1870
Classmark:  Eilo Hildebrand (private collection of facsimiles). (Original, previously owned by Klaus Groove, sold by Venator and Hanstein, Cologne (dealers), 16 March 2018.)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7264F

To W. H. Flower   5 July 1870

Summary

Encloses a query from Camille Dareste [see 7262] about the niata ox skull CD gave to the museum [of the Royal College of Surgeons].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Henry Flower
Date:  5 July 1870
Classmark:  Bonhams, 13 March 2002
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7266

From J. D. Hooker   [6 or 7 July 1870]

thumbnail

Summary

Has CD read E. Claparède ["Remarques à propos de l’ouvrage de M. Alfred Russel Wallace sur la théorie de la sélection naturelle", Arch. Sci. Phys. & Nat. n.s. 38 (1870): 160–89]? Is it worth translating?

CD and J.-F. de Brandt are "en lutte for Ac. of Sc. [France]. What a farce it is".

His work on Nepenthes supports Miquel’s and Wallace’s view of the zoology of Borneo and Sumatra.

Brian Hodgson on dogs.

H. C. Bastian’s book [The modes of origin of lowest organisms (1871)] unsatisfactory.

Lyell does not share CD’s view of Bentham’s address.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [6 or 7 July 1870]
Classmark:  DAR 103: 55–56
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7267

From Ernst Haeckel   6 July 1870

Summary

Discusses applicability of evolutionary theory to the question of human origins.

Describes revisions in 2d edition of Natürliche Schöpfungsgeschichte.

His research on calcareous sponges.

Mentions evolutionary content in Gegenbaur’s Vergleichende Anatomie [2d ed. (1870)].

Author:  Ernst Philipp August (Ernst) Haeckel
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 July 1870
Classmark:  DAR 166: 54
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7268

From A. R. Wallace   6 July 1870

Summary

Thanks for the drawing.

E. Claparède’s review [of Theory of natural selection, Rev. Cours Sci. 7 (1870): 564–71] is weak.

Looks forward [to Descent] with fear of being "crushed under a mountain of facts!"

Author:  Alfred Russel Wallace
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  6 July 1870
Classmark:  DAR 106: B92–3
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7269

From George Green Gascoyen   7 July 1870

Summary

Sends CD information on two points which St George Mivart has asked him to provide, respecting the platysma myoides muscle. It is always in a state of violent contraction when a person is struggling for breath. In persons to whom chloroform is about to be administered, there is contraction but not so marked. No doubt contraction was strong before use of chloroform in operations.

Author:  George Green Gascoyen
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 July 1870
Classmark:  DAR 165: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7270

To J. D. Hooker   8 July [1870]

Summary

Thinks well of Claparède’s criticism; worth publishing as an answer to Wallace. Bates thinks Wallace’s heterodox views have done mischief to the cause of evolution. Wallace thinks Claparède’s article very weak, CD concludes, because Claparède has arrived at an unpleasant judgment very much like Lyell’s about Bentham’s address.

CD would wager Lyell lately has said something about European Proteaceae.

Does not remember anyone before Wallace on Sumatra and Java.

CD does not think he has a chance against Brandt in French Academy election.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  8 July [1870]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 177–8
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7271

From J. D. Hooker   10 July 1870

thumbnail

Summary

Sends seeds from R. L. Playfair in Algiers.

F. Delpino writes asking where M. A. Curtis has published physiological observations on Dionaea ["Enumeration of plants growing spontaneously around Wilmington, North Carolina", Boston J. Nat. Hist. 1 (1834–7): 82–140; see Insectivorous plants, p. 301 n.].

Talk with Duke of Argyll on CD’s and Wallace’s views on man.

Author:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 July 1870
Classmark:  DAR 103: 53–4; Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Directors’ Correspondence 17a: 117)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7272

To J. D. Hooker   12 July [1870]

Summary

Has not heard of Curtis on Dionaea.

Duke of Argyll is clever, but it is a sin to speak of a real old Duke as a "little beggar".

"My theology is a simple muddle: I cannot look at the Universe as the result of blind chance, yet I can see no evidence of beneficent Design."

On spontaneous generation and Bastian.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Joseph Dalton Hooker
Date:  12 July [1870]
Classmark:  DAR 94: 179–180
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7273

From William Bernhard Tegetmeier   14 July 1870

Summary

Sends a letter by Mr Teebay on variation in wild ducks.

Offers to lend Dr Cooper’s book on game fowls.

Is preparing a new edition [1873] of his Poultry book.

Author:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  14 July 1870
Classmark:  DAR 178: 82, DAR 193: 43
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7274

To W. B. Tegetmeier   15 July [1870]

Summary

WBT may use any of CD’s material for the new edition of his poultry book. Hopes WBT will keep firmly to his idea of working out pigeon variation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Bernhard Tegetmeier
Date:  15 July [1870]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7275
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1870
07
01 (4)
02 (3)
04 (2)
05 (2)
06 (3)
07 (1)
08 (1)
10 (1)
12 (1)
14 (1)
15 (2)
16 (3)
17 (2)
18 (1)
19 (1)
20 (1)
21 (2)
23 (1)
26 (1)
28 (1)
30 (2)
31 (1)
Page: 1 2  Next
letter