skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains ""

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
1879 in date [X]
1879 in date [X]
letter in document-type [X]
letter in document-type [X]
649 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next

From W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   [20 January 1879]

thumbnail

Summary

H. N. Moseley says [in "Notes on plants collected and observed at the Admiralty Islands", J. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 15 (1877): 77] pigeons eject seeds in fit state for germination. He regards pigeons as providing most efficient means of transport in Malayan Archipelago.

CD’s collected notes on geographical distribution would make a good book.

Author:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [20 Jan 1879]
Classmark:  DAR 205.2: 260
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10341

To G. H. Darwin   [after 25 February 1879]

Summary

Frank [Darwin] has found a Trifolium remarkable for "bloom", but it was not in flower. If GHD knows where it grows, could he dig up the whole plant?

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Howard Darwin
Date:  [after 25 Feb 1879]
Classmark:  DAR 210.1: 76
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-10342

To W. T. Thiselton-Dyer   4 July [1879?]

Summary

Thanks WTT-D for Drosophyllum seeds.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Turner Thiselton-Dyer
Date:  4 July [1879?]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Darwin: Letters to Thiselton-Dyer, 1873–81: ff. 65–6)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11033

To Francis Darwin   3 June [1879]

Summary

Asks whether canary grass and oats have chlorophyll in their cotyledons.

Has been working hard at circumnutation of leaves to see whether sleep movements are exaggerated circumnutation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  3 June [1879]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 25
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11541

To Ann Marston   20 July [1879]

Summary

Will not sign a petition, for he feels vivisection is essential to the progress of physiology.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Ann Marston
Date:  20 July [1879]
Classmark:  DAR 202: 22
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11619

From James Torbitt   [1879?]

Summary

Has found no [potato] variety whose foliage can resist the parasite, except when grown under glass.

Author:  James Torbitt
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1879?]
Classmark:  DAR 178: 151
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11814

To Francis Darwin   [4 February – 8 March 1879]

Summary

Requests some seeds.

Believes the leaves of Phyllanthus sleep like those of Cassia.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [4 Feb – 8 Mar 1879]
Classmark:  DAR 211: 49
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11815

To Francis Darwin?   [1879–80?]

Summary

Discusses A. B. Frank’s views [Beiträge zur Pflanzenphysiologie (1868)] on how plants position themselves; differences and similarities compared with their own conclusions.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Francis Darwin
Date:  [1879–80?]
Classmark:  Botany School Cambridge (in A. B. Frank, Beiträge zur Pflanzenphysiologie, 1868)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11816

To Albert Günther   1 January 1879

Summary

Thanks AG for his kind note and returns his good wishes.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Albrecht Carl Ludwig Gotthilf (Albert) Günther
Date:  1 Jan 1879
Classmark:  Shrewsbury School, Taylor Library
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11817

From Marius Koch   3 January 1879

Summary

A young disciple wishes to know if reports of people with tails in New Guinea could be true.

Author:  Marius Koch
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  3 Jan 1879
Classmark:  DAR 169: 48
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11819

To A. S. Wilson   4 [June] 1879

Summary

Mentions wheat varieties sent by Governor General of Turkestan.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Alexander Stephen Wilson
Date:  4 [June] 1879
Classmark:  DAR 148: 366
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11820

To Edward Frankland   4 January [1879]

Summary

Fears that the promised bottle of pure water may have been despatched or stolen in passage. [See 11768a.]

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edward Frankland
Date:  4 Jan [1879]
Classmark:  The John Rylands Library, The University of Manchester (Frankland Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11820A

From Mary Jung   7 January 1879

Summary

Young Austrian woman asks for CD’s autograph.

Author:  Mary Jung
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  7 Jan 1879
Classmark:  DAR 168: 94
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11821

From Carl Kraus   8 January 1879

Summary

A supporter of "the presumptive connection between socialism and evolution through natural selection" sends essays of Carl Vogt and requests CD to comment on them publicly.

Author:  Carl (Charles) Kraus
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  8 Jan 1879
Classmark:  DAR 169: 104
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11822

To ?   9 January 1879

Summary

Thanks correspondent for the copies of his engraving. "The work seems to be, though I cannot pretend to be a judge, a vy fine production".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  9 Jan 1879
Classmark:  Dr Mirko Majer (private collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11823

From W. E. Darwin   9 January 1879

Summary

Sends figures on increase in value of North Western Railway stocks. Says consol stock considered much more secure for bankers. Does not think his own bank is in danger of a run. Is glad to see the Emperor of Prussia has confirmed CD’s appointment to Academy. Is snowing at Bassett.

Author:  William Erasmus Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  9 Jan 1879
Classmark:  Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 70)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11823F

To W. E. Darwin   10 January [1879]

Summary

G[eorge] has visited A[nthony] R[ich] at Worthing.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Erasmus Darwin
Date:  10 Jan [1879]
Classmark:  DAR 210.6: 152
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11824

From Leopold Würtenberger   10 January 1879

Summary

Asks about possibility of securing grant in England in order to complete work on ammonites. Describes progress. Could CD recommend him to a foundation? Describes personal background.

Author:  Leopold Würtenberger
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  10 Jan 1879
Classmark:  DAR 181: 184
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11825

To Mary Jung   11 January 1879

Summary

Suggests MJ does not worry about the differences in opinion between ecclesiastics and scientists.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Mary Jung
Date:  11 Jan 1879
Classmark:  J. A. Stargardt (dealer) (catalogue 681, 28–9 June 2005)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11825F

From C. H. Blackley   13 January 1879

Summary

Relates anecdote about a provincial girl’s reaction to being told men descended from monkeys.

Author:  Charles Harrison Blackley
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan 1879
Classmark:  DAR 160: 194
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-11826
Document type
letter[X]
Date
1879
01 (43)
02 (70)
03 (60)
04 (62)
05 (60)
06 (65)
07 (56)
08 (31)
09 (38)
10 (52)
11 (63)
12 (49)
Page: 1 2 3 4 5   ...  Next
letter