skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search: contains ""

Darwin Correspondence Project
Search:
1869::11::25 in date [X]
1869::11::25 in date [X]
3 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1

From Charles Layton   25 November 1869

Summary

Asks CD to have stereotype plates made of new edition of Origin [5th English], if type still standing, though Appleton will reset type if necessary. Warns there is smaller audience in the U. S. for "good scientific books".

Appleton would also like plates made of new book [Descent] when possible.

Author:  Charles James (Charles) Layton; D. Appleton & Co
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 Nov 1869
Classmark:  DAR 159: 84
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7009

From Charles Boner   25 November [1869]

Summary

Gives account of inherited blindness in a family,

and observations contravening CD’s view in Variation that sheep and other domestic animals never run wild.

Author:  Charles Boner
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  25 Nov [1869]
Classmark:  DAR 160: 238
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7010

To George Bentham   25 November [1869]

Summary

CD finds GB’s address interesting; assures him that he has never said GB was wrong on any point, but that there were differences between them, which he now thinks are not great.

Comments on specific parts of the address [see 6793]: colonisation, variability of large and small genera, descent from a single parent or pair of parents, rapid multiplication and change in species, isolation.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  George Bentham
Date:  25 Nov [1869]
Classmark:  Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (GEB/1/3)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-7011
letter