skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. E. Darwin   [5 April 1875]

Eras. says your name was put at bottom.—1 Our visit very prosperous— we go to day to 2. Bryanston St.2

C. D.


On 8 April [1875], Erasmus Alvey Darwin (CD’s brother) wrote to William Erasmus Darwin: ‘I looked to make sure that you had been entered at the Athenæum & I find your name Nº 5656 1868 so you will probably come on in five or six years. You must remember before that to get a Seconder & it will be as well to mention that you have been entered twice as in the Index your name is scratched out the first time & entered again near the end with no cross reference’ (DAR 210.7: 4). On the process of election to the Athenaeum, see the letter to W. E. Darwin, [2 April 1875], n. 1. A proposer’s name had to be given when the candidate’s name was listed in the Book of candidates, but the seconder’s name did not have to be given until the week before the ballot was held (Athenæum: rules and regulations, and list of members). William was elected in 1884 ([Waugh] 1888).
The Darwins stayed with Erasmus in London from 31 March to 5 April; they then stayed with their daughter Henrietta Emma Litchfield until 12 April 1875 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242)).


Athenæum: rules and regulations, and list of members. London: n.p. 1862.


Another message about club elections.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
William Erasmus Darwin
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Ap 5 75
Source of text
DAR 210.6: 141
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9914,” accessed on 4 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23