skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. E. Darwin   [4 April 1875]1

Bassett, | Southampton.


My dear Father,

I will write & let Strickland know, and he will be very much obliged to you.2

If you go to Athenaeum again would you mind asking if I was put down at the end again when I came on for election some years ago; as it is possible in a few years time I might like to try my luck to get in.3

If you are not naturally there I could get a line introducing me to the Secretary who would tell me.4 I hope you find London suits you & that Mother is getting over her headaches. I am enjoying Belt5 very much indeed.

Your affect son | W. E. Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to W. E. Darwin, 2 [April 1875], and by the fact that 4 April 1875 was a Sunday.
See letter to W. E. Darwin, 2 [April 1875] and n. 1; Sefton West Strickland was seeking election to the Athenaeum Club.
James Claude Webster was secretary of the Athenaeum club ([Cowell] 1975, p. 108).
Thomas Belt’s The naturalist in Nicaragua (Belt 1874a).


[Cowell, F. R.] 1975. The Athenaeum Club and social life in London, 1824–1974. London: Heinemann.


Will write to Strickland. Asks whether name has already been put down for Athenaeum.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Erasmus Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Source of text
Cornford Family Papers (DAR 275: 57)
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9909F,” accessed on 16 May 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23