skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. V. Carus   30 October 1874

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

Oct. 30 1874

My dear Sir

I shall be able to send very soon all the remaining sheets; but I can tell you at once that the last page of last chap. is 619, & last p. of index is 688.1

I am very much obliged for the errata; I have sent them off to the printers, but fear it is too late.2

My Journal of researches was stereotyped, & has never been altered.3 I am very hard at work on Drosera & allied Plants &c &c & am sorry to that it will make a rather big book.

I shall not begin printing, I suppose, for 4 or 5 months.4 I hope your health is fairly good.

My dear Sir, in Haste | yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The ‘sheets’ were the proof-sheets of Descent 2d ed.; see letter from J. V. Carus, 27 October 1874 and n. 1.
See letter from J. V. Carus, 27 October 1874 and n. 5. In 1845, John Murray published the second edition of Journal of researches using the stereotype technique, which involved preparing fixed metal printing plates. The text for each page was cast from a mould and was therefore unchangeable (see Correspondence vol. 8, letter to John Murray, 29 January [1860]).
Insectivorous plants was published in July 1875 (Freeman 1977, p. 149); see letter from J. V. Carus, 27 October 1874 and n. 4.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Descent 2d ed.: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2d edition. London: John Murray. 1874.

Freeman, Richard Broke. 1977. The works of Charles Darwin: an annotated bibliographical handlist. 2d edition. Folkestone, Kent: William Dawson & Sons. Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, Shoe String Press.

Insectivorous plants. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.

Journal of researches: Journal of researches into the geology and natural history of the various countries visited by HMS Beagle, under the command of Captain FitzRoy, RN, from 1832 to 1836. By Charles Darwin. London: Henry Colburn. 1839.


Will soon send remaining sheets [of Descent, 2d English ed.]. Fears JVC’s errata have come too late for printing.

His new work [Insectivorous plants] will make a rather big book.

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9702,” accessed on 30 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22