skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. D. Hooker   [11–15 April 1846]1

–myself entirely on your resources.

I have no time at present to answer your last long & xcellent letter.

Falconer gives me no specific objections to Forbes views.

Nothing can be Botanically so strong as the contrast between Cape & Rest of Africa, it is as strong as between Australia & India I should think.

Minute palpi legs & jaws &c cannot be an affaiblissement of legs, for in your old friend Chiasognathus the legs, Maxillæ & Palpi are all enormous for the tribe: there are surely plenty of other instances in 〈    〉

〈    〉 made you leave off Snuff if even for a week. It is always astonishing to me that you can go on with it; when it is to you so decided a stimulant. Do pray knock it off altogether. I am sure you will be much better if you do; it must hurt you, & is growing a 2d. nature.

I have only a steel pen & can hardly form my letters with it.

Ever yours most truly | Jos D Hooker.

CD annotations

crossed pencil
‘! [reverse question mark]. !’added pencil
crossed pencil


This fragment is the only remaining part of Hooker’s reply to the letter from CD on 10 April [1846].


Hugh Falconer gives no specific objections to Forbes’s views.

Botanical contrast between Cape of Good Hope and the rest of Africa is as strong as that between Australia and India.

Wishes CD would leave off snuff.

Letter details

Letter no.
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 104: 205
Physical description
2pp inc †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 966,” accessed on 17 November 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 3