skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From John Murray Jr   15 September 1874

50A, Albemarle St. | W.

Sep 15/74

My dear Sir.

In the absence of my father I have to acknowledge the receipt by this morning’s post, of your letter & a packet of author’s copy1 The books you enquire after now stand thus—

Naturalists Voyage.2 12th thousand

Origin of Species 13th "

Descent of Man 10th. "

Expression of Emotions 9th "

We are now printing 2000 No. of Descent of Man.

With regard to the Expression I must explain that we have not as yet quite sold off the 7000 No. already accounted for—but we hope to do so, & to begin on the 2000 No. subsequently printed; at our Sale this year, we consider that the 9th. thousand may fairly be quoted.3

I am Dear Sir | Yours faithfully | John Murray jun

Ch Darwin Esq | &c &c &c


John Murray Jr’s father was John Murray (1808–92). CD’s letter has not been found. The ‘author’s copy’ has not been identified.
Journal of researches (1870).
John Murray (1808–92) customarily held a sale dinner in November, at which he sold books to the principal booksellers (Murray 1908–9, p. 540).


Sends CD a statement of number of thousands of copies printed thus far [by Murray’s] of: Journal of researches (12), Origin (13), Descent (10), and Expression (9).

Letter details

Letter no.
John Murray, Jr; John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50a
Source of text
DAR 171: 440
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9639,” accessed on 19 August 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22