skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From D. F. Nevill   [11 September 1874]1

Dangstein | Petersfield


My dear Sir

The Utricularia was dispatched yesterday   it had the bladders as you described to me so I hope it may prove useful to you—2 I see in your interesting work of “Animals and plants” on the Cats you make no mention of The Siamese breed of which I possess almost the only specimen3   he is just like an Otter with a brown fur coat and a beauty— I am not much in L during the winter but if you will do me the great pleasure of calling on me I would bring him up and show him to you— Years ago you sent me Photo of yourself—which I have framed and hung up—4 it would gratify me so much if you would send me another with your signature   I should value it most highly   Any thing else I can supply you with I shall be happy to do so

Ys | very truly | D Nevill

The Utricularia can be treated in the same manner as the Drosera5

a small carte de visite would please me best the other one was a large one


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to D. F. Nevill, 11 September [1874]. In 1874, 11 September was a Friday.
Nevill refers to Utricularia montana, an epiphytic bladderwort; see letters to D. F. Nevill, 7 September 1874 and 11 September [1874] and n. 2. Utricularia montana is a synonym of U. alpina.
CD discussed domestic cats in Variation 1: 43–8.
See Correspondence vol. 10, letter from D. F. Nevill, [c. 14 March 1862].


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 29 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Has sent the Utricularia with the bladders that CD described.

In Variation CD does not mention a rare breed of Siamese cat, which she owns.

Asks for another photograph.

Letter details

Letter no.
Dorothy Fanny Walpole/Dorothy Fanny Nevill
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Dangstein, Petersfield
Source of text
DAR 172: 19
Physical description
ALS 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9633,” accessed on 18 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22