skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From D. F. Nevill   8 [September 1874]1

Dangstein | Petersfield

My dear Sir

We keep the Drosera in a house with a north aspect and hardly any heat—and damp— The gardener says you must syringe it and that will produce the dew on it—in a short time— it does not stand in a saucer of water—2 We have small plants of Utricularia Montana which may perhaps be the plant you mean—3 They are seedlings from our parent plant and we could well spare you one for good

I can assure you it is a great pleasure as well as an honour to contribute in however small a degree towards your interesting investigations— I only wish (when I am in London) that I might have the pleasure of coming down for an hour and making your personal acquaintance but perhaps that would be too much to expect but always believe anything we have we will willingly send you

believe me | Ys truly | D Nevill



The month and year are established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to D. F. Nevill, 7 September 1874.
CD had asked about the growing conditions of Drosera dichotoma, the forked-leaf sundew, in his letter to Nevill of 7 September 1874.
See letter to D. F. Nevill, 7 September 1874 and n. 2. Utricularia montana is an epiphytic species of bladderwort, native to the Antilles and northern South America. Utricularia montana is a synonym of U. alpina.


Offers Utricularia montana and gives instructions for growing Drosera.

Wishes to visit CD at Down when she comes to London.

Letter details

Letter no.
Dorothy Fanny Nevill
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Dangstein, Petersfield
Source of text
DAR 172: 20
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9628,” accessed on 24 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22