skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Price   28 July [1874]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. [Abinger Hall, Surrey.]

July 28th

My dear Price.

I have just received your note, & you will have received mine on U. minor.2 Will you be so kind as to keep alive for a month in pond water some plants, or, send some to Down, but in this latter case, please mark in plain writing outside “to be placed immediately in water in greenhouse”.— Before I left home I gave instructions to my gardener.—3 I certainly shd be very glad to look with high power at some points of structure.

No plant that ever I attacked, has puzzled & bothered & interested me more than U. vulgaris.4

With many thanks, | Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to John Price, 27 [July 1874].
See letter from John Price, [27 July 1874], and letter to John Price, 27 [July 1874]. Utricularia minor is lesser bladderwort.
CD was away from home from 25 July until 24 August 1874 (see ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). CD’s gardener was Henry Lettington.
CD and Francis had been studying Utricularia vulgaris (common bladderwort; see letter to J. D. Hooker, 16 July 1874).


Thanks JP for note.

Sends instructions for mailing Utricularia plants to Down in his absence.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Price
Sent from
Abinger Hall
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9570,” accessed on 19 January 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22