skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [8? February 1846]



My dear Hooker

Thanks for your franck note: we shall have the greatest pleasure in visiting you in the Spring.—

Even if M. Gay had talked English, I believe I cd not have come, for going to London on Wednesday has brought on in spite of Galvanism,1 three days bad sickness.— Emma yesterday to thank Lady Hooker2 & yourself for the Goldsmith Hall good-things, which will delight the children: I am going to send to Bromley tomorrow & will enquire at the Coach offices.

Will you ask Gay for me, what Birds, Reptiles or Mammifers (not introduced) inhabit Juan Fernandez? I have always been curious about it—

In Haste. I will write again before long.

My dear Hooker | C. Darwin

P.S | The good things have just arrived & they look so very good that the poor children will be deluded out of some of them

Do you take in the New Horticultural Journal.— Have you seen the Dean of Ms. Paper?3


Maria Hooker, J. D. Hooker’s mother.
W. Herbert 1846. William Herbert was the Dean of Manchester.


Herbert, William. 1846a. Local habitation and wants of plants. Journal of the Horticultural Society of London 1: 44–9.


Will visit JDH in spring.

Will JDH ask Gay what birds, reptiles, or mammifers inhabit Juan Fernández [Island]?

Has JDH seen William Herbert’s paper ["Local habitation and wants of plants", J. Hortic. Soc. Lond. 1 (1846): 44–9]?

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 52
Physical description
ALS 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 950,” accessed on 13 September 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 3