skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To G. H. Darwin   [29 May 1874]1

My dear George.

I forwarded this morning some proofs of Descent.—2 I am extremely sorry to hear so bad an account of yourself & that you must starve so much.—3 I write now to urge you, if you find the proofs too hard work to give them up, & I & your mother will manage them.

Thanks about Spalding: I wish that you had been here to see him: he is one of the most interesting men I have seen for a very long time: he is half-dead with diseased lungs.4

When you are at work on Exam. papers & cannot correct proofs, send card to Messrs. Clowes, Stamford St. Blackfriars to tell them there will be a week’s delay.—5 I will forward next packet of proofs. (i.e. if you do not give up job) without opening them; but if they shd. contain Revise of 1st or 2d sheet, forward them to me, for they are for German Translation.—6 I do hope we may have better account of you before long

Yours affecty. | C. Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter, the letter to G. H. Darwin, 27 May [1874], and the letter from G. H. Darwin, 30 May 1874.
CD was preparing the second edition of Descent.
The letter from George has not been found.
Douglas Alexander Spalding had visited CD at Down (see letter to G. H. Darwin, 27 May [1874] and n. 2).
William Clowes & Sons were the printers used by CD’s publisher, John Murray. George was examiner in ‘Mathematics and Classics’ for Trinity College, Cambridge; the examinations took place between 8 and 13 June 1874 (Trinity College Archive, Head Lecturer’s Book 1801–1900).
Julius Victor Carus was preparing a German translation of Descent 2d ed. (see letter to J. V. Carus, 23 May [1874]).


Descent 2d ed.: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2d edition. London: John Murray. 1874.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


CD has forwarded proofs of Descent [2d edition]. Urges GHD not to work on them if his poor health makes them too tiring.

Thanks GHD about Spalding [i.e., for responding to Spalding’s request, see 9472].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
George Howard Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 210.1: 22
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9474,” accessed on 19 January 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22