skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. V. Carus   22 May 1874

53, George Street | Edinburgh,

May 22d | 1874.

My dear Sir,

I write only a line to-day to send you my address in Edinburgh, that you may be able to send me sheets of the Descent as soon as some of them are ready. My publisher has no copies left and wants me to begin as soon as possible1

I have again a very large class, even larger than last year, which I didn’t expect.2 Last year I was a new man and the novelty may have “drawn”. So I am the more happy about the large number of students, especially as there are not a few of my old pupils amongst them.

Hoping that your health does not suffer too much in this wretched weather I am | Ever yours truly. | J. Victor Carus


Carus was translating the second edition of Descent (Carus trans. 1875a) into German (see letter to J. V. Carus, 21 January 1874). It was published by E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagsbuchhandlung.
Carus lectured on zoology at Edinburgh University in the summers of 1873 and 1874; he was standing in for Charles Wyville Thomson, who was on the HMS Challenger expedition (NDB).


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

NDB: Neue deutsche Biographie. Under the auspices of the Historical Commission of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences. 26 vols. (A–Vocke) to date. Berlin: Duncker & Humblot. 1953–.


Sends Edinburgh address so he may be sent sheets of Descent [2d English, for 3d German ed.].

Has a large class for his lectures.

Letter details

Letter no.
Julius Victor Carus
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 161: 95
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9463,” accessed on 22 October 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22