skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Michael Foster   25 April [1874]1

2. Bryanston St. Portman Sqe.

Ap. 25th

(I stay here till Tuesday night)2

Dear Dr. Foster.

The parcel of circulars has been forwarded to me from Down, & I have been racking my brains with no success, to think of anyone beyond the names which I formerly mentioned.—3 Wd. Prof Turner of Edinburgh4 know any rich Scotchman to whom to send it?—

I have seen Sir C. Lyell & he will give 25£, & Busk 10£.5 Would it be worth while to add in M.S to any circulars not sent out these sums, partly as Lyell’s & Busk’s names are good, & partly as a guide. Busk remarked that the printed list might terrify some who would & could give smaller sums.

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Charles Lyell, 24 April 1874.
CD stayed with Richard Buckley and Henrietta Emma Litchfield in London from Tuesday 21 to Wednesday 29 April (‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).
Foster had prepared a printed appeal for the Zoological Station at Naples for circulation to prospective subscribers (see letter to Michael Foster, 23 April [1874] and n. 2).
William Turner was professor of anatomy at the University of Edinburgh (ODNB).


ODNB: Oxford dictionary of national biography: from the earliest times to the year 2000. (Revised edition.) Edited by H. C. G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. 60 vols. and index. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2004.


Has received circulars, and contributions from Lyell and George Busk [for Naples biological station].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Michael Foster
Sent from
London, Bryanston St, 2
Source of text
Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 4: 71)
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9427,” accessed on 18 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22