skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Michael Foster   23 April [1874]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. [2 Bryanston Street, London.]

April 23d

Dear Dr Foster

The proof reads very well. I hope to Heaven our scheme may be successful.2 I am sorry to say that I know nothing whatever of the D. of Devonshire3 & could not possibly write to him. Sir C. Lyell will subscribe & is puzzled what to give.—4 You have omitted my eldest son of W. E. Darwin who has promised 20£.5

Remember to send a copy (but not as from me) to T. H. Farrer Board of Trade Whitehall & to E. A. Darwin   6. Queen Anne St. W.6

I was at the R. Soc. for a short time last night & wish that I had heard that you were there.7 In Haste | Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the reference to the proof (see n. 2, below).
Foster had arranged to have copies of an appeal for the Zoological Station at Naples printed for distribution to prospective subscribers (see circular to various scientific men, [7 April 1874], and letter from Michael Foster, 7 April [1874]).
William Cavendish was the seventh duke of Devonshire.
CD had planned to have a photograph of the Zoological Station displayed at the Royal Society of London soirée on 22 April (see letter to Anton Dohrn, 16 April and 9 August 1874).


Approves of proof [of subscription appeal for Dohrn’s Naples station]. Suggests names.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Michael Foster
Sent from
London, Bryanston St, 2 Down letterhead
Source of text
Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine Archives (Huxley 4: 69)
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9425,” accessed on 19 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22