skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To G. H. Darwin   19 April [1874]1

Ap 19th

My dear George

Very many thanks.—2 I cannot tell you how sorry I am to hear about the Cousin-question.3 It is a real misfortune—

Most heartily do I congratulate you on so nearly finishing your labours with the Descent.—

Your affect. | C. Darwin

We go to London on Tuesday morning—4

How curious your luck about the Waring affair.—5

Do not send M.S & sheet to Clowes till you hear from me & tell me when you are ready6


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from G. H. Darwin, 18 April 1874.
George was correcting the proofs for Descent 2d ed.
See letter from G. H. Darwin, 18 April 1874 and n. 7. George was investigating whether the offspring of cousin marriages could be quantified and whether they suffered worse mental and physical health than the general population.
CD stayed in London with his daughter and son-in-law, Henrietta Emma and Richard Buckley Litchfield, from 21 to 29 April 1874 (‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).
William Clowes and Sons were the printers of Descent 2d ed.


Descent 2d ed.: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2d edition. London: John Murray. 1874.


Is sorry to hear the news about the cousin question – a real misfortune.

Congratulates GHD on being nearly finished with work on Descent.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
George Howard Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 210.1: 19
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9419,” accessed on 22 May 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22