skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To R. F. Cooke   8 April 1874

Down, Beckenham, Kent

April 8, 1874

My dear Sir

I send by this post the MS and I shall be very glad to receive proofs soon.1 I can be published whenever you like. It is all right about the blocks; four by Mr. Wood, done long ago, and 3 new ones now to be paid for.2 I have paid the artists and I think one of engravers. I have been looking at the MS. additions again and I fear they will increase vol. 1 by 40 or 50 pages; but, as I said before, I cannot judge. The additions to vol. 2 are much less.

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

P. S. My nephew got into the Athenæum with splendid success.3

I see that I have paid Butterworth and Heath 3£ for engraving and Mr. Wood 3£ for drawing Argus Pheasant.4


CD refers to the manuscript of Descent 2d ed.
Four illustrations from Descent were replaced by new ones drawn from life by Thomas W. Wood (see Descent 2d ed., 2: 27). The new illustrations were: fig. 39, p. 372 (Tetrao cupido, the greater prairie chicken, male), fig. 47, p. 386 (Paradisea papuana, the lesser bird-of-paradise), fig. 50, p. 395 (Rupicola crocea, the cock-of-the-rock, male), and fig. 51, p. 397 (Polyplectron chinquis, the peacock-pheasant, male). On the three new illustrations for Descent 2d ed., see the letter to John Murray, 4 April 1874 and n. 4.
CD refers to Henry Parker. See letter to R. F. Cooke, 7 February 1874 and n. 2, and letter from E. A. Darwin, 17 [March 1874] and n. 2.
Butterworth and Heath was a London firm of wood-engravers. Wood’s illustration of the male argus pheasant appears in Descent 2d ed., p. 413.


Descent 2d ed.: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2d edition. London: John Murray. 1874.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


Discusses illustrations for 2d edition of Descent.

"My nephew [Henry Parker] got into the Athenaeum with splendid success."

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Robert Francis Cooke; John Murray
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 143: 290
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9398,” accessed on 21 September 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22