skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. V. Carus   5 April 1874


Apr 5th. 1874.

My dear Sir,

I shall come to London to-morrow week and stay there till Wednesday after-noon. If I shall be able to see you this time, I am not quite sure, as I am rather pressed with my time. But on my return from Edinburgh1 in the beginning of August I shall try again to find you   This time I bring Mrs. Carus and two daughters with me, whom I should not like to carry too-much about.2 So, if you should happen to hear from Dr Günther3 that I passed through London, pray excuse me if I did not try to pay you my respects personally, as I wished and have wished to do these many years

I am rather in haste, as it is always hard work to prepare work without one’s library and all the rest for four months coming.

Believe me to be | Yours always truly, | J. Victor Carus


Carus gave a course of lectures on natural history at the University of Edinburgh (see letter from J. V. Carus, 19 January 1874 and n. 2).
Carus’s wife was Sophie Catherine Carus. He had three daughters: Agnes Marie Elisabeth, Anne Sophie Gertrud, and Louise Charlotte Johanna.
Albert Günther.


Hopes to visit CD during a stay in London.

Letter details

Letter no.
Julius Victor Carus
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 161: 94
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9391,” accessed on 24 September 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22