skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From T. HHuxley   31 March 1874

4 Marlborough Place | NW

March 31. 1874

My dear Darwin

The brain business is more than half done & I will soon polish it off and send it to you—1 We are going down to Folkestone for a week on Thursday & I shall take it with me

I do not know what is doing about Dohrn’s business at present   Foster took it in hand but the last time I heard he was waiting for reports from Dew & Balfour2

You have been very generous as always;3 & I hope that other folk may follow your example but like yourself I am not sanguine

I have had an awfully tempting offer to go to Yankee land on a lecturing expedition and I am seriously thinking of making an experiment next spring4

The chance of clearing two or three thousand pounds in as many months is not to be sneezed at by a père de famille— I am getting sick of the state of things here

Ever | Yours faithfully | T. HHuxley

I have heard no more about the spirit photographs!5


Huxley was writing a note on the resemblances and differences between the brains of apes and humans to be included in Descent 2d ed. (see letter to T. HHuxley, 28 March [1874] and n. 3).
Michael Foster was attempting to find ways to help Anton Dohrn fund the Naples Zoological Station; Foster’s students, Alfred George Dew-Smith and Francis Maitland Balfour, were carrying out research at the station (see letter from T. HHuxley, 6 March 1874 and n. 4).
CD had sent Dohrn a donation of £120 (see letter to T. HHuxley, 28 March [1874]).
Huxley did not undertake his lecture tour of America until August 1876 (L. Huxley ed. 1900, 1: 459–69; Jensen 1988).
Huxley had attended a séance hosted by Hensleigh Wedgwood (letter from T. HHuxley, 27 January 1874 and n. 2), after which Wedgwood sent him some spirit photographs; Huxley had responded by showing how the effect might have been produced by mechanical means (L. Huxley ed. 1900, 1: 419).


Descent 2d ed.: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2d edition. London: John Murray. 1874.


His note on brain [in man and apes for 2d ed. of Descent] nearly finished.

Has heard nothing about Dohrn.

THH has been invited to lecture in America.

Letter details

Letter no.
Thomas Henry Huxley
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Marlborough Place, 4
Source of text
DAR 166: 332
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9380,” accessed on 2 December 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22