skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   27 [March 1874]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.


My dear Hooker

Forgive me for being so troublesome. Etty is helping me over Coral-Reefs.— Will you lend her for a month your copy, (which I returned,) on account of the Maps.—2

“Mrs. Litchfield

2. Bryanston St

Portman Sqre. | W.”

Forgive me | your affect | C. Darwin


The year and month are established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to H. E. Litchfield, 21 [March 1874].
CD’s daughter Henrietta Emma Litchfield was correcting the proofs of Coral reefs 2d ed. (see letter to H. E. Litchfield, 21 [March 1874]). There were three maps in Coral reefs; CD made minor revisions to the map of the Pacific and Indian Oceans in Coral reefs 2d ed., plate 3. CD had first asked to borrow Hooker’s copy of Coral reefs in January (see letters to J. D. Hooker, 8 January 1874 and 18 January [1874]).


Coral reefs 2d ed.: The structure and distribution of coral reefs. By Charles Darwin. Revised edition. London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1874.

Coral reefs: The structure and distribution of coral reefs. Being the first part of the geology of the voyage of the Beagle, under the command of Capt. FitzRoy RN, during the years 1832 to 1836. By Charles Darwin. London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1842.


Etty [Henrietta Litchfield] is helping with Coral reefs [2d ed.]; will JDH lend her his copy?

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 95: 320
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9373,” accessed on 10 December 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22