skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From O. G. Rejlander   7 February 1874

1, | Albert Mansions, | Victoria Street, | S.W.

Febr. 7/74

My dear Sir

I am in a dilemma. First I must thank you with all my heart for your generosity of sending me a cheque for £10. which I will return if the case goes in my favor—as most people think—1

Now the dilema is this: that my wife2 has written to several—many—persons without my knowledge—without—yes she did threaten she would as she has maginified my danger to £500 and become half-crazy.

Some one has alarmed her and that “the law is only for the accuser”—

She has given me a great trouble for I call it a tremendous liberty— I wouldn’t have had the impudence even to save a bankruptcy.

I am very busy painting—and drawing against time yet I have now to explain and apologise to twenty persons

Of course she meant well in her ignorance— All she knew was that I was not well off and so instead of waiting to see how things would turn she acted thus.

I have received an injunction but my Solicitor who has “put in appearance” says that I shall have to be served with one more—paper ere the case can come on in the “Common pleas”

I thank you and crave pardon.

Yours very truly | O. G. Rejlander

Chas. Darwin Esqr


CD recorded writing a cheque for £10 to Rejlander on 2 February 1874 in his Account books–banking account (Down House MS). The case has not been identified. Rejlander had taken some of the photographs for Expression (see Correspondence vol. 19).
Mary Rejlander.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


Thanks CD for £10 to help with his law case.

Letter details

Letter no.
Oscar Gustaf Rejlander
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Victoria St
Source of text
DAR 176: 117
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9272,” accessed on 14 July 2020,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22