skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From C.-F. Reinwald   4 February 1874

Paris. | 15 Rue des Saints Pères

Febr 4th 1874.

Dear Sir

We duely received your kind letter of Jany. 19th. and have the honor to hand you herewith a cheque of £40.—on Joint Stock Bank in payment of Copyright for the second edition of the french translation of your Descent of Man (Descendance de l’Homme.)1

This second edition has been much improved by a total revision in the correctness and the style of late Mr. Moulinié’s first edition of the translation, by Mr. Edm. Barbier.2 We send you this day a copy of the 2 volumes of the 2d. edition by book post and hope they will safely reach you.

A few days ago we began printing Naturalist’s voyage on board of the Beagle, translated by the same Mr Barbier; and hope to proceed rapidly with it.3

More copies of “Descendance de l’Homm〈e〉” as well as of “Emotions”4 are at your disposa〈l〉

We remain, dear Sir, very respectfully | your most obedient | C Reinwald & Co

To Charles Darwin, Esq. Down.


CD’s letter to Reinwald has not been found, but must have been a response to Reinwald’s letter to him of 17 January 1874. The French second edition of Descent was Moulinié trans. 1873–4. CD recorded the payment in his Account books–banking account (Down House MS) on 5 February 1874.
Reinwald had been dissatisfied with the late Jean Jacques Moulinié’s translation of Descent (Moulinié trans. 1872; see Correspondence vol. 21, letter from C.-F. Reinwald, 4 March 1873). The revision was made by Edmond Barbier (Moulinié trans. 1873–4).
Reinwald refers to Barbier trans. 1875, a translation into French of Journal of researches 2d ed.
The French translation of Expression was Pozzi and Benôit trans. 1874.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.

Journal of researches 2d ed.: Journal of researches into the natural history and geology of the countries visited during the voyage of HMS Beagle round the world, under the command of Capt. FitzRoy RN. 2d edition, corrected, with additions. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1845.


Sends £40 for copyright to Édmond Barbier’s revision of Moulinié’s Descent translation.

Journal of researches translation is in press.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 176: 102
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9265,” accessed on 14 April 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22