skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Francis Darwin   [17 September 1874]1

Thursday Night

My dear F.

If you could come here pretty soon, tomorrow morning, I shd be glad, to write from my dictation, as I want after 10 oclock as soon as day is bright, to do a little microscope work.—2

Yours affect | C. Darwin

I hope that you thanked Amy for her capital drawing— U. Montana will be well illustrated.—3

Poor William4 has influenza & telegraphs that he will not come tonight.—


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to J. D. Hooker, 18 September [1874]. In 1874, the Thursday before 18 September was 17 September.
CD described his microscopical observations of bladderworts (Utricularia) in the letter to J. D. Hooker, 18 September [1874].
Amy Darwin’s drawing has not been found. There are three illustrations of Utricularia montana in Insectivorous plants, pp. 432. 433 and 435. Rough sketches of the plant are in DAR 59.1: 129–30, 135–6. Utricularia montana is a synonym of U. alpina.


Insectivorous plants. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.


Asks FD to come early to write from dictation.

Thanks Amy for her drawing of Utricularia montana.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Francis Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 271.3: 12
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9218,” accessed on 16 May 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22