skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From T. H. Huxley   [13 November 1873]1

4 Marlborough Place | NW

Thursday P.M

My dear Darwin

Your note has just come to hand—

I am bound to be at South Kensington at 10. AM tomorrow, when I lecture so I don’t see how it is possible for us to meet at 9.

At 12. there is a Meeting of the Royal Commission which I must attend2   I suppose we shall sit till four o’clock—but I can make sure of being able to call upon you about five

Send me a post card to 6 Old Palace Yard Westminster— (Office of Science Commission) to say if you can see me at this time—

I am very glad you have heard of Dohrn’s affair—3 I have been in a great state of mind about it, but did not know what to do thinking that you for me, had done enough for your friends of late.—4

Ever | yours faithfully | T. H. Huxley


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to G. H. Darwin, 15 November [1873]. In 1873, the Thursday before 15 November was 13 November.
Huxley attended a meeting of the Royal Commission on Scientific Instruction and the Advancement of Science at 6 Old Palace Yard on 14 November 1873 (The Times, 15 November 1873, p. 6).
See letter from F. M. Balfour, 11 November 1873, and letter to G. H. Darwin, 15 November [1873]. Anton Dohrn was appealing for funds for the Zoological Station in Naples, which he had founded.
In April 1873, CD organised a subscription fund raised by Huxley’s personal friends to relieve his financial problems (see letter to subscribers to T. H. Huxley’s gift, [25 April 1873] and nn. 2–4).


Arrangements for meeting in London.

Glad CD has heard about Dohrn’s affairs.

Letter details

Letter no.
Thomas Henry Huxley
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Marlborough Place, 4
Source of text
DAR 166: 331
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9183,” accessed on 24 July 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21