skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To A. R. Wallace   [18 November 1873]1

Dear Wallace

I have just bethought me & it is strange that I had not thought of it before, that my second son2 is quite capable of doing the job about which I have written to you,3 & I am certain that he wd like to do it, especially if I gave him a present. I I gathered an impression from your note to Bates that you did not care much about undertaking the work;4 & perhaps you will care still less when you hear how dull & bothersome a one it is.5 If so I will get my son to undertake it. If on the other hand you wish for it, all that I wrote will of course, hold good. In any case I beg you to excuse me for the trouble which I have thus caused you. If you have written to me before you receive this wd you kindly let me have a post-card—telling me how the case stands.

In Haste yours very sincerely | C. D.


The date is established by the relationship between this letter, the letter to A. R. Wallace, 17 November 1873, and the letter from A. R. Wallace, [19 November 1873].
George Howard Darwin.
CD refers to the work needed to produce a second edition of Descent, and his letter to A. R. Wallace, 17 November 1873.


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


CD’s son [George] could do the work [of proof-correction for Descent, 2d ed.] if ARW finds he does not care for it.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 96: 164
Physical description
AdraftS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9152,” accessed on 28 February 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21