skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To G. H. Darwin   [17 November 1873]1

[2 Bryanston Street, London.]

Monday morning—

My dear G.—

Many thanks for your letter & I am very very sorry to hear so poor an account of yourself.— What pleasant society you have & could have in Cambridge if you were stronger.—2

Mamma cooly says that my money signifies more to all of you than to me—so put me down for 75£—ie if the affair goes on after we hear from Dohrn3

Ever yours | C. Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to G. H. Darwin, 15 November [1873]; in 1873, the Monday following 15 November was 17 November.
The letter from G. H. Darwin has not been found, but see the letter to G. H. Darwin, 15 November [1873]. In October 1873, George moved from London to Trinity College, Cambridge, to pursue a scientific career (ODNB).
CD was offering to increase his subscription to help Anton Dohrn complete the Zoological Station at Naples (see letter to G. H. Darwin, 15 November [1873], and letter from T. H. Huxley to Anton Dohrn, 15 November 1873).


ODNB: Oxford dictionary of national biography: from the earliest times to the year 2000. (Revised edition.) Edited by H. C. G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. 60 vols. and index. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2004.


Sorry to hear of GHD’s poor health – he could have pleasant society at Cambridge if he were stronger.

Contributes £75 [to a fund for Naples Zoological Station] "if the affair goes on after we hear from Dohrn".

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
George Howard Darwin
Sent from
London, Bryanston St, 2
Source of text
DAR 210.1: 16
Physical description
ALS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9148,” accessed on 7 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21