skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From S. W. Moore   7 October 1873

113 Brixton Road | S. W.

7. 10. 73

My dear Sir

Many thanks for the books which have arrived they are more than I could expect for such minor services & I shall prize them very much.1

By this post I send you the Chlorophyll2   it was extracted with spirit then evaporated, you will it is largely precipitated from solution, but I have not dried it as it so soon undergoes a change, exposed however in a warm room for an hour or so the spirit will all evaporate.

The hæmoglobin was made from bullock’s blood; the globulin I posted by card was from lens & very pure in form more so than that from H-glob:3

CD annotations

1.1 Many thanks … evaporate. 2.4] crossed blue crayon
2.3 an hour … spirit 2.4] underl blue crayon
3.1 The … H-glob: 3.2] double scored blue crayon
3.1 bullock’s blood;] underl blue crayon
3.2 lens] underl blue crayon
Top of letter: ‘Digestion’ blue crayon
End of letter: ‘S. W. Moore’ blue crayon

Footnotes

It is not known which books CD sent to Moore, but they were probably copies of CD’s own books, sent in gratitude for Moore’s help with CD’s work on insectivorous plants (see letters from S. W. Moore, [1 October 1873] and 3 October 1873).
See letter from S. W. Moore, 3 October 1873. CD credited Moore with sending him chlorophyll, and described his experiments with placing particles of it on the leaves of Drosera rotundifolia (round-leaved or common sundew), in Insectivorous plants, pp. 125–6.
In Insectivorous plants, p. 120, CD credited Moore with preparing globulin for him from the lens of an eye, and described its effect on Drosera rotundifolia. He did not describe any experiments with haemoglobin, but he did describe an experiment with haematin, an oxidised derivative of a component (haem) of haemoglobin (ibid., p. 121).

Bibliography

Insectivorous plants. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.

Summary

Thanks CD for copies of his books.

Sends chlorophyll extract [for CD’s work on Drosera digestion].

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-9090
From
Samuel William Moore
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Brixton Rd, 113
Source of text
DAR 58.1: 43
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9090,” accessed on 2 August 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-9090.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21

letter