skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. D. Hooker   17 [November 1873]1

Royal Gardens Kew

Monday 17

Dr. Darwin

The Mimosa albida goes herewith—& the Eucalypti go today to Orpington.2 We have no species with glaucous vertical leaves when young.

I go to Glasgow by night train tomorrow to installation of D’Israeli at my Alma Mater as Lord Rector, when they dub me L.L.D.—a most horrid bore.3 I shall return next night.

I enclose scraps of Herbarium specimens of the glaucous plants you named.

I hope you are better.

Ever yrs affec | Jos D Hooker.

CD annotations

1.1 Eucalypti] after added pencil ‘of’ circled, line to caret after ‘species’
1.1 We … young. 1.2] double scored pencil
2.1 I … better. 4.1] scored pencil
Top of letter: ‘Keep’ pencil
Verso of letter: ‘(See Dried Plants)’ pencil, square brackets in ms


The month and year are established by the reference to Benjamin Disraeli’s installation as lord rector at the University of Glasgow, which took place on 19 November 1873 (Glasgow Herald, 20 November 1873).
CD had requested specimens of Eucalyptus and Mimosa albida (see letter to J. D. Hooker, [9 November 1873]). Orpington was the nearest railway station to Down.
Hooker had received an MD from the University of Glasgow in 1839 (Roll of the graduates of the University of Glasgow). LLD: doctor of laws.


Roll of the graduates of the University of Glasgow: A roll of the graduates of the University of Glasgow. From 31st December, 1727. To 31st December, 1897. Compiled by W. Innes Addison. Glasgow: James MacLehose & Sons. 1898.


Is sending specimens of Eucalyptus;

goes tomorrow to receive LL.D. [Glasgow].

Letter details

Letter no.
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 100: 133-4
Physical description
ALS 3pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9054,” accessed on 3 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21