skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [15 or 22 August 1845]1

Down Bromley Kent


My dear Hooker

I have just received your note: I am sincerely sorry to hear of the state of your venerable grandfather:2 I trust his suffering is not great.—

I enclose the proofs; would you please look over the whole of the Galapagos Ch. as the vegetation is incidentally mentioned in two or three places: you can skip about the tortoises & lizards, tameness of birds which is as before; all the rest is much altered.— I have tryed to make it as little purely scientific as possible— I hope there are no material errors in the Botany part: the proofs have been revised once, but I have not time to look them over again before sending to you.— Wd. you please return them soon, as the Press waits for them.—3

I grieve to hear that the labels are displaced in my plants: I took the greatest care in this respect, whilst they were in my care.— I collected everything in flower in Patagonia & B. Blanca, which latter place I saw was intermediate in character between the N. & S.—

Pray of course send my C. Verd plants & any others whither you like.— I have no separate catalogue of plants, but if you will send me the numbers, in a row I will gladly fill up the localities.—

I know nothing of the C. Pigeon.—

You are most kind to think of giving me a copy of your work:4 but seriously there must be many botanists, on whom it wd. be better bestowed, though none, who will be better pleased at the offer: now I beg you to have no scruples, & keep it & give it to some Botanist if such shd. occur to you: again I thank you.—

I am so stupid, that I forget which way you prefer parcels being sent to you.— I will then return d’Urville &c.— Can you allow me to keep a fortnight or 3 weeks longer Webb & Berthelot;5 I have been so worked with my Journal, that I have not had strength to read it.—

Will you also excuse me having put some pencil-scores to the pamphlet on l’Espèce,6 & will you leave them unrubbed out: so that I cd hereafter borrow it again: the passages do not strike me as worth copying & yet I shd. like hereafter to refresh my memory with them.—

Remember you shall have a copy of my Journal, when complete.

Ever my dear Hooker | Most truly yours | C. Darwin

I heartily wish you success at Edinburgh;7 though it will carry you so far away.—

What a wonderful deal of work you are about!—


The conjectured dates are the two Fridays between the announcements of the deaths of Robert Graham and Joseph Hooker, see nn. 2 and 7, below.
Joseph Hooker died on 24 August 1845.
CD’s Galápagos chapter (Journal of researches 2d ed., pp. 372–401) was due to be published in the third and final number.
Dumont d’Urville [1841–54], Webb and Berthelot 1836–50, vol. 3, pt 1.
Robert Graham, whose students Hooker was teaching, died on 7 August 1845. Hooker became the Crown’s official nominee for the vacant professorship at Edinburgh University, competing against John Hutton Balfour, the Town Council’s nominee (Huxley ed. 1918, 1: 204–5).


Dumont d’Urville, Jules Sébastien César. [1841–54]. Voyage au pôle sud et dans L’Océanie sur les corvettes L’Astrolabe et La Zélée, 1837–40. 23 vols. Paris.

Gérard, Frédéric. 1844. De l’espèce dans les corps organisés. Extract from d’Orbigny, Alcide Charles Victor Dessalines, ed., Dictionnaire universel d’histoire naturelle. 16 vols. Paris. 1841–9.

Hooker, Joseph Dalton. 1844–7. Flora Antarctica. 1 vol. and 1 vol. of plates. Pt 1 of The botany of the Antarctic voyage of HM discovery ships Erebus and Terror in the years 1839–1843, under the command of Captain Sir James Clark Ross. London: Reeve Brothers.

Journal of researches 2d ed.: Journal of researches into the natural history and geology of the countries visited during the voyage of HMS Beagle round the world, under the command of Capt. FitzRoy RN. 2d edition, corrected, with additions. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1845.


Sorry to hear about condition of JDH’s grandfather.

Sends proofs of Galapagos chapter of Journal of researches.

Grieves to hear labels are displaced on his plants.

May he annotate [F. Gérard’s] L’espèce [(1844), extracted from Dictionnaire universel d’histoire naturelle, ed. C. D. d’Orbigny (1839–49)]?

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 38
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 900,” accessed on 28 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 3