skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From T. H. Farrer   3 May 1873

3, Gloucester Terrace, | Regent’s Park.

3 May/73

My dear Mr Darwin

Many thanks for the name of the German book.1 Now that I shall have another pair of shoulders on which to rest some of my burdens,2 I should much like, if strength & eyesight last, to escape sometimes to flowers— We shall see— At any rate I will get the book—

What a noble letter was that of Huxleys— I should like to have seen yours to him3

Sincerely yours | T H Farrer


CD had recommended Hermann Müller’s Die Befruchtung der Blumen (H. Müller 1873), on the fertilisation of flowers by means of insects (see letter to T. H. Farrer, 28 April 1873).
Farrer probably refers to his marriage to Katherine Euphemia Wedgwood on 30 May 1873 (see B. Wedgwood and Wedgwood 1980, p. 303).


Müller, Hermann. 1873. Die Befruchtung der Blumen durch Insekten und die gegenseitigen Anpassungen beider. Ein Beitrag zur Erkenntniss des ursächlichen Zusammenhanges in der organischen Natur. Leipzig: Wilhelm Engelmann.

Wedgwood, Barbara and Wedgwood, Hensleigh. 1980. The Wedgwood circle, 1730–1897: four generations of a family and their friends. London: Studio Vista.


Hopes affairs will enable him to get back to flowers.

Huxley’s letter [about the fund raised for him] was noble. Would like to have seen CD’s to him.

Letter details

Letter no.
Thomas Henry Farrer, 1st baronet and 1st Baron Farrer
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Gloucester Terrace, 3
Source of text
DAR 164: 74
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8896,” accessed on 26 November 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21