skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hague   25 April [1873]1

Down, Beckenham, Kent.

April 25

My dear Sir

I have thought that you would like to see the enclosed note from Mr.  Moggridge (a botanist who has studied and published on the habits of ants) about your very interesting paper which was gladly published by the Editor of Nature.2 Possibly you might be induced to attend to the suggestion by Mr. Moggridge.

I hope that your health is quite reestablished3 and I remain | My dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter and the letter to J. D. Hague, 3 April [1873].
The note from John Traherne Moggridge has not been found. Moggridge’s book Harvesting ants and trap-door spiders (Moggridge 1873) contained observations on ants collecting and storing seeds. CD had sent Hague’s account of ant behaviour to Nature (see second letter to Nature, [before 3 April 1873] and n. 2).
Hague had made his observations while recovering from a long illness (second letter to Nature, [before 3 April 1873]).


Moggridge, John Traherne. 1873. Harvesting ants and trap-door spiders: notes and observations on their habits and dwellings. London: L. Reeve & Co.


Encloses note from J. T. Moggridge commenting on JDH’s letter ["Perception in ants", Nature 7 (1873): 443–4].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
James Duncan Hague
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 144: 395
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8881,” accessed on 19 January 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21