skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Leonard Blomefield   17 April [1873]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

April 17th

My dear Jenyns

I cannot begin a note to you in any other way, though no doubt you are well accustomed to your new name.2 I write merely to thank you for your essay on Local Biology.3 It has interested me much; & I doubt whether there is another man who could have collected so many valuable suggestions & curious facts.— I hope that you keep fairly well. As for myself I am much as usual, but with care & much discomfort am able to work a few hours almost every day.

With cordial recollections of old times, believe me | Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the publication date of Blomefield’s essay (see n. 3, below).
In 1871, Leonard Jenyns received a considerable property on condition that he change his name to Blomefield (ODNB).
CD’s annotated copy of Blomefield’s paper ‘Local biology’ (Blomefield 1872) is in the Darwin Pamphlet Collection–CUL.


Blomefield, Leonard. 1872. Local biology, followed by remarks on the faunas of Bath and Somerset. [Read 13 November 1872.] Proceedings of the Bath Natural History and Antiquarian Field Club 2 (1870–3): 373–426.

ODNB: Oxford dictionary of national biography: from the earliest times to the year 2000. (Revised edition.) Edited by H. C. G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. 60 vols. and index. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2004.


Thanks LB for his essay on local biology.

CD with much care and discomfort is now able to work a few hours almost every day.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Leonard Jenyns/Leonard Blomefield
Sent from
Source of text
Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institution (LET3016)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8863,” accessed on 23 October 2019,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21