skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. W. Reade   25 March [1873]1

13. Alfred Place | Bedford Square

March. 25

My dear Sir

I heard from Bates this afternoon that you were in town & had kindly inquired after me—2 When can I have the pleasure of seeing you?3 I can call at any day & hour if you will send me a postcard—

Yours very truly | Winwood Reade

Footnotes

The year is established by the date of the Darwins’ stay in London. Although CD was in London on 25 March in both 1872 and 1873, Reade had already visited him on 19 March 1872 (Correspondence vol. 20, Appendix II).
CD and Emma Darwin stayed at 16 Montague Street, London, from 15 March until 10 April 1873 (see ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). No record of a meeting with Henry Walter Bates has been found, but see the letter from Raphael Meldola, 24 March 1873 and n. 1.
No record of a meeting between CD and Reade in 1873 has been found, but it is likely that it took place (see letter from W. W. Reade, 14 May 1873).

Summary

H. W. Bates says CD is in town. WWR would like to call.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-8822
From
William Winwood Reade
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Alfred Place, 13
Source of text
DAR 176: 66
Physical description
1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8822,” accessed on 25 May 2019, http://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/DCP-LETT-8822

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21

letter