skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. C. Costerus and N. D. Doedes    [22?] March 18731

Down, Beckenham, Kent.

March 12 1873.

The University | Utrecht | Holland.


I thank you cordially for your very kind letter.2 It is the highest satisfaction which any writer can hope for, to interest other students, especially the younger ones. Your letter has consequently been very welcome to me. Perhaps you would like to possess a photograph of me, as a souvenir of our correspondence, and therefore I send two copies.

Your advice about cheap edition is good. About a year ago I did publish in England a sixth and much cheaper edition of my Origin of species; but still it is not so cheap as many books on the continent.3

With my renewed and sincere thanks, | I remain, Dear Sirs, yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin


The copyist evidently wrote ‘12 March’ in error, probably mistaking a ‘2’ in CD’s handwriting for a ‘1’.
The sixth English edition of Origin sold for 7s. 6d. although CD had wanted it priced at 5s. (Correspondence vol. 20, letter to John Murray, 8 January [1872], and letter from R. F. Cooke, 12 February 1872).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.


Thanks them for their kind letter and interest in his work. Sends photograph.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Jan Constantijn Costerus; Nicolaas Dirk Doedes
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 139.12: 11
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8807,” accessed on 21 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21