skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From S. H. Haliburton   8 November [1872]1

Bridge House | Richmond | S. W.

Novr 8th.—

My dear Charles Darwin

Indeed, (at the risk of being thought troublesome) I must thank you most sincerely for your kind & flattering letter, & also for the Photograph, which certainly recalls to me the Charles Darwin of olden days, I prize it extremely, & have affixed it in the title page of your Book—2

And if we are spared to see another Summer’s Sunshine, I shall look forward to visiting you,3 which will indeed be a real pleasure to | Your’s very affectionately | S. H. Haliburton

P S. | Your book interests me so much, there are many subjects in it, that I should like to talk to you about—


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to S. H. Haliburton, 6 November [1872].
CD sent a photograph of himself with his letter of 6 November [1872]; he had sent a copy of Expression with his letter of 1 November [1872].
According to Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242), Haliburton lunched at Down on 24 April 1874.


Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


Thanks for CD’s photograph, which recalls the Charles Darwin of olden days.

Letter details

Letter no.
Sarah Harriet Mostyn Owen/Sarah Harriet Williams/Sarah Harriet Haliburton
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 166: 86
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8612,” accessed on 28 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20