skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From John Murray   3 September [1872]1

50, Albemarle St. | W.

Sept. 3—

My Dear Sir

My Partner M Cooke before leaving home for his holiday had increased the order for Heliotypes to 8,000.!—2

I have attended to the Dutch man— His plates must be on larger paper & will probably cost a little more—3 Mr Schweitzerbart has paid for his supply down.4 I have attended to your instructions touching Dr Anton Dohrn.5 I beg to enclose a cheque for £34.2.6—the sum expended by you on Artists—6

I agree to your proposal of £50—instead of £55—as the charge for Stereotype text & Cuts for Appleton7

I remain My Dear Sir | Yours very sincerely | John Murray

Chas Darwin Esqr


The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to R.F. Cooke, 23 August 1872.
The Dutch publisher Johan IJkema had asked for the right of translation of Expression (see letter from Johan IJkema, 21 August 1872, and letter to R. F. Cooke, 23 August 1872).
CD’s books were published in German translation by the firm E. Schweizerbart’sche Verlagshandlung under the directorship of Eduard Koch.
CD’s Account books–banking account (Down House MS) record that CD received a payment for this amount under the heading ‘Murray cheque for advance to artists’ on 4 September 1872. See also letter from R. F. Cooke, 1 August 1872.
See letter to R.F. Cooke, 7 August 1872 and n. 2.


Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


R. Cooke has increased the order for heliotypes [for Expression] to 8000. Reimburses CD for cost of artists.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50
Source of text
DAR 171: 420
Physical description
ALS 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8508,” accessed on 21 July 2024,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20