skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From G. H. Darwin   [13 August 1872]1

New University Club, | St. James’s Street S.W.

Tuesday afternoon

My dear Father,

After a most tremendous rummage I found the 2 Roy. Soc. books & took them back;2 I had almost given one of them up when I found it stuck away under a pile of papers in a cupboard. I have also been to see Mr. Cook3 & have discovered what you probably will have heard by telegraph (a useful exercise to Aunt C.)4 that the Heliotype people put 2s 212 d by mistake for 1s.212d— this correction makes the prints very cheap instead of very dear 1d a piece. I empressed on Cook that he was to get them to charge a lump sum for preparing plates &c including the titling & that as far as we can see it is absurd to charge per 100 for doing it. Cooke says that he does not consider them sharp-practitioners but v. liberal & thinks it all very satisfactory

I met Pryor5 here this p.m & we are going down to Brighton together, wh will make it much more lively.— There had been an accident on the G.E.R this a.m   a train ran off the lines on the viaduct near New Cross   luckily it had run straight on & no harm was done.6 I shall prob. turn up on Sat.— I hope you have got thro’ the journey well7

Your affectionate Son | George Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from R. F. Cooke to G. H. Darwin, 13 August 1871, and by the reference to the train accident near New Cross (see n. 6, below). In 1872, 13 August was a Tuesday.
George evidently refers to books borrowed from the library of the Royal Society of London.
Robert Francis Cooke had been negotiating with the Heliotype Company over the price of printing the photographic plates for Expression (see letter from R. F. Cooke to G. H. Darwin, 13 August 1871).
CD’s sister, Caroline Sarah Wedgwood.
The Great Eastern Railway accident on the Charing Cross to Dover line near New Cross took place on 13 August 1872 (The Times, 14 August 1872, p. 5).
CD had travelled to Leith Hill Place in Surrey, where he stayed from 13 to 21 August (‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).


Expression: The expression of the emotions in man and animals. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.


Discusses the price of some heliotype prints [for Expression?].

Letter details

Letter no.
George Howard Darwin
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
New University Club
Source of text
DAR 210.2: 23
Physical description
ALS 4pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8500,” accessed on 4 June 2023,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20